Arts and culture is alive and well in the City of Cornwall! Use the menu to learn more about Art of the City, Arts in the Park, the Cornwall Community Museum, Placemaking, and Recreation Programs.


Arts and Culture Centre

In 2011, the Culturescape Report recommended the development of an arts and culture facility and in 2012, the City opened an account “The Art Trust Fund” to hold community donations to support that goal. In 2013, members across the arts community in Cornwall and area established the Centre for the Arts Collective/le Collectif pour un centre des arts to concentrate and focus fundraising and promotional events to advance the project. Money trickled in while the City’s Recreation and Leisure Arts department provided support and direction.

In 2016, the City of Cornwall commissioned an architectural consulting firm to complete an Arts Centre Feasibility Study. The purpose of this Feasibility Study was to determine the facility needs, the affordability, the physical components (design, spaces and sizes), specific location, and costs for a Community Arts and Culture Centre in Cornwall. The final report recommended that the best option for the location of a new Arts and Culture Centre would be an $11-12 million addition/renovation at the Cornwall Civic Complex.

fundraiser thermometer

Fundraising and promotion continued slowly until early 2018, when BMO decommissioned the bank at 159 Pitt Street. The building had been erected in 1911 with a Beaux Arts style façade. City administration, to the delight of the arts community, ordered a FIT Test to assess the feasibility of the site for re-purposing as an arts centre with a black box theatre as its anchor. The FIT Test was positive and estimated refurbishment costs between $4 and $6 million. The City purchased the building in March 2018 and the project was re-energized.

City Recreation staff organized tours of repurposed art spaces and black box theatres in Eastern Ontario. In January 2019, a subset of the Collective, the Be The Link fundraising team, launched a drive with a goal of raising $1 million.

The City’s 2020 budget allocated funds for an architectural firm to create the blueprints for the future arts centre. In February 2020, GRC Architects of Ottawa were chosen to do the work. GRC Architects has a reputation for innovative and engaging designs, including heritage buildings, community centres, and recreation facilities. They began work immediately, in the face of COVID-19 restrictions, with a Zoom conference call early on. They have since visited the site, drilling holes in the walls and excavating strategic spots in the rear parking lot to ensure that building and ground conditions are adequate to support their design work.

Community consultations will follow release of preliminary designs.

To access the pledge form and make a contribution to the Art Trust Fund, click here.

Click here to visit the bethelink.net website for more information about the arts centre.

phone icon Contact Us

Lorne Taillon
Leisure Arts Coordinator
800 Seventh Street West, Box 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
T.: 613-938-9898 ext. 4012
F.: 613-938-8855
Email this contact
Map this location

Les arts et la culture se portent bien à Cornwall. Pour obtenir des renseignements:


Centre des arts et de la culture

En 2011, les auteurs de Culturescape Report ont recommandé la création d’un centre d’arts et de culture. En 2012, la Ville a créé l’Art Trust Fund, fonds en fiducie destiné à recueillir les dons publics pour soutenir la réalisation de cet objectif. En 2013, des membres de la communauté artistique de Cornwall et de la région ont créé le Collectif pour un centre des arts pour organiser des collectes de fonds et des événements promotionnels destinés à faire progresser la réalisation du projet. Les contributions sont arrivées lentement et en attendant, le service des loisirs et des arts récréatifs a offert de l’aide et des conseils.

En 2016, la Ville de Cornwall a retenu les services d’un cabinet d’architectes-conseils pour étudier la faisabilité d’un centre d’arts. L’étude visait à établir les besoins de l’installation, la faisabilité financière, les composantes physiques (design, espaces, dimensions), l’emplacement et les coûts d’un centre d’arts et de culture à Cornwall.  Les auteurs du rapport final ont indiqué que la meilleure solution consistait à agrandir ou à rénover le Complexe civique de Cornwall et que les coûts se situeraient entre 11 et 12 millions de dollars.

fundraiser thermometerOn a continué à organiser petit à petit des collectes de fonds et des événements promotionnels. Au début de 2018, la BMO a quitté l’édifice situé au 159, rue Pitt. Érigé en 1911, cet édifice est doté d’une façade de style Beaux-Arts.  À la grande joie de la communauté artistique, l’administration de la Ville a demandé qu’on réalise un test pour évaluer la faisabilité de la conversion de l’immeuble en un centre d’arts abritant un théâtre en boîte noire.  Le test s’est révélé positif.  La remise à neuf de l’édifice a coûté entre 4 et 6 millions de dollars. La Ville l’a acquis en mars 2018 et l’édifice a commencé sa deuxième vie.

Le personnel municipal chargé du service du divertissement a organisé des visites des immeubles consacrés à l’art et des théâtres en boîte noire de l’Est de l’Ontario. En janvier 2019, un sous-groupe du Collectif, l’équipe chargée des collectes de fonds Be The Link, a lancé une campagne de financement ayant pour objectif 1 million de dollars.

Le budget de la Ville de 2020 prévoyait l’affectation de fonds à la production de plans d’architecture pour le nouveau centre d’arts. En février 2020, le cabinet d’architecture GRC Architects d’Ottawa a été retenu. Ce cabinet est reconnu pour sa conception innovante.  Parmi ses réalisations, citons des édifices patrimoniaux, des centres communautaires et des installations de loisir.  Ce cabinet s’est mis au travail sans tarder.  Compte tenu des restrictions liées à la COVID-19, il a organisé rapidement une conférence Zoom. Il a fait une visite du chantier, percé des trous dans les murs, excavé des points particuliers du terrain de stationnement arrière pour s’assurer que l’état de l’édifice et du terrain était satisfaisant pour supporter les travaux.

Après les consultations publiques, les plans préliminaires seront publiés.

Pour accéder au formulaire d’engagement ou pour faire un don à l’Art Trust Fund, cliquez ici.

Pour consulter le site Web bethelink.net et obtenir plus d’information sur le centre d’arts, cliquez ici. 

phone icon Contactez Nous

Lorne Taillon
Coordonnateur, arts et loisirs
800 rue 7ième ouest, Boîte 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
: 613-938-9898 ext. 4012
: 613-938-8855
Envoyer un courriel
Emplacement sur la carte