One of the City of Cornwall's largest responsibilities involves the collection and treatment of wastewater. This is accomplished through an extensive sewer network and a primary Wastewater Treatment Plant and pumping station on Montreal Road in the east end of the City.

The City of Cornwall strives to maintain high standards in wastewater treatment to ensure there is minimum effect on the St. Lawrence River.

Located at 2800 Montreal Road, the City of Cornwall Wastewater Treatment Plant was originally built in 1968, and the facility has undergone several expansions since that time. The treatment plant has undergone a $55.5-million upgrade resulting in the addition of secondary treatment and an increase in capacity. 

The existing plant currently serves approximately 46,000 residents as well as numerous commercial and industrial customers. It has an average rated capacity of 54,000 cubic metres per day and a peak design capacity of 108,000 cubic metres per day.

Sewage from the City of Cornwall is collected and transferred by gravity to a pumping station on the south side of Montreal Road, near the entrance to the Wastewater Treatment Plant.

The sewage passes through a screen at the pumping station before being pumped through a forcemain to the treatment plant, where grit is removed in aerated grit tanks. After degritting, the sewage is transferred to four clarifiers where it is disinfected using chlorine. The treated effluent is then discharged into the St. Lawrence River.

Solids that settle in the clarifiers are pumped to two digesters where organic matter is decomposed and methane is generated. This methane is used as a fuel for building heat. The decomposed organic matter is removed from the digesters, dewatered in centrifuges and landfilled for final disposal.


Not-so-flushable

Protect our Wastewater Treatment Plant!

Just because the items you flush leave the toilet bowl, doesn't mean they have made it through the sewer system - or even left your building! Flushing some items can cause major issues in your building, community, and environment. Even if something says it's "flushable", this doesn't mean it's good for your toilet, your plumbing, or our environment.

toilet

Flush:

  • pee
  • poop
  • toilet paper
Keep it simple and only flush the three p's: pee, poop, and (toilet) paper.
litter, feminine hygiene product, cotton swab

Do not flush:

  • kitty litter
  • feminine hygiene products
  • cotton swabs and pads
These items do not break down - they can actually clump together and cause clogs.
chemicals, medication, cigarette

Do not flush:

  • cleaning products
  • medication
  • cigarettes

These items can contaminate the water system.
They can poison aquatic environments, infiltrate drinking water, kill good bacteria, and increase bacterial resistance to pharmaceuticals.

flushable wipes and kleenex

Do not flush:

  • paper towels
  • tissues
  • "flushable" wipes
  • baby wipes
These items are too thick and sturdy to flush. They do not break down and can build up, causing clogs.
bandaid, floss

Do not flush:

  • bandaids
  • floss
  • gum
  • condoms

These items are not biodegradable. They will stick together, stick to other items, and stick to the
inside of your pipes, creating

phone icon Contact Us

La collecte et le traitement des eaux usées sont l’une des plus grandes responsabilités de la ville de Cornwall. À cette fin, nous utilisons un vaste réseau d’égout, une station principale de traitement des eaux usées et une station de pompage située sur le chemin Montreal, dans les quartiers est.

La ville de Cornwall s’efforce de maintenir le haut niveau d’exigence qu’elle applique à ses activités de traitement des eaux usées pour minimiser les effets sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

La station de traitement des eaux usées de la ville de Cornwall, située au 2800, chemin Montreal, a été construite en 1968. Elle a été agrandie plusieurs fois depuis. La station de traitement a bénéficié d’une mise à niveau d’une valeur de 55 ,5 millions de dollars, ce qui a permis la construction d’une station secondaire et une augmentation de la capacité de traitement.

La station existante dessert actuellement environ 46 000 résidents ainsi que de nombreux clients commerciaux et industriels. Sa capacité nominale moyenne est de 54 000 mètres cubes par jour, et sa capacité théorique maximale de 108 000 mètres cubes.

Les eaux d’égout de la ville de Cornwall sont recueillies et acheminées par gravité vers une station de pompage située dans le sud du chemin Montreal, près de l’entrée de la station de traitement des eaux usées.

Les eaux d’égout passent à travers une grille à la station de pompage, avant d’être pompées dans une canalisation de refoulement vers la station de traitement, où les impuretés sont éliminées dans des bassins de dessablement. Une fois le dessablement achevé, les eaux d’égout sont acheminées vers quatre clarificateurs pour y être désinfectées par un traitement au chlore. L’effluent dûment traité est ensuite déversé dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

La matière solide déposée dans les clarificateurs est pompée vers deux cuves de digestion, ou la matière organique se décompose, produisant du méthane utilisé comme combustible pour le chauffage des bâtiments. La matière organique décomposée est retirée des cuves de digestion, déshydratée dans des centrifugeuses et finalement enfouie dans une décharge.


À ne pas jeter dans la toilette

Pensez avant de tirer la chasse d'eau!

Lorsque vous jetez des articles dans la toilette et qu'ils quittent la cuvette, cela ne signifie pas nécessairement qu'ils ont réussi à traverser le système d'égouts ou qu'ils ont même quitté votre demeure. Les articles qui sont jetés dans la toilette peuvent causer de graves problèmes dans votre demeure, votre communauté et l'environnement.

toilet

Jeter:

  • papier de toilette
  • urine
  • selles
C'est simple - les toilettes sont pour ce qui p.u.s. : papier de toilette, urine, et selles.
litter, feminine hygiene product, cotton swab

À ne pas jeter :

  • litière pour chats
  • produits d'hygiène féminine
  • tampons d'ouate
  • cotons-tiges
Ces produits ne se décomposent pas. En fait, ils peuvent s'agglomérer et obstruer les tuyaux.
chemicals, medication, cigarette

À ne pas jeter :

  • produits de nettoyage
  • médicaments
  • cigarettes

Ces produits peuvent contaminer le réseau d'alimentation en eau. Les produits chimiques qu'ils contiennent peuvent empoisonner les milieux aquatiques, s'infiltrer dans l'eau potable, tuer les bonnes bactéries ou augmenter la résistance des bactéries aux médicaments, causant ainsi une multitude d'autres problèmes.

flushable wipes and kleenex

À ne pas jeter :

  • essuie-tout
  • mouchoirs
  • lingettes 'jettables dans les toilettes'
  • lingettes pour bébés
Ces produits ne se décomposent pas. En fait, ils peuvent s'agglomérer et obstruer les tuyaux.
bandaid, floss

À ne pas jeter :

  • pansements
  • soie dentaire
  • gomme
  • condoms

Ces produits ne sont pas biodégradables. Ils colleront ensemble, à d'autres articles ainsi qu'à l'intérieur de vos tuyaux, et causeront un engorgement.

phone icon Contactez Nous

Carl Goodwin
Gérant, environnement
861 rue 2ième ouest, Boîte 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
Téléphone: 613-930-2787 ext. 2582
Envoyer un courriel
Emplacement sur la carte