Please click here for the current Waste Collection Calendar.

Did you know?

  • The average household in Cornwall sets out 2 bags of garbage per week (600 kgs per year)
  • The average household in Cornwall sets out 1 box of recycling per week (140 kgs per year)
  • Garbage and Recycling collectors collect garbage and recycling from 4,400 houses per day, meaning they collect 550 houses per hour, rain or shine! 

Garbage and Recycling in the City of Cornwall is handled by the Waste Management Department. Currently the City of Cornwall uses HGC Management Inc. to collect garbage and recycling from the curb. Garbage and recycling is collected weekly in the City of Cornwall. Please see the sections below for more information regarding the programs. 

 Report a Missed Waste Collection

 If you placed your waste out at the appropriate time and it meets all of the Solid Waste By-Law requirements and it was not collected please fill out this form and a truck will return to collect the material. Please note if you put your waste out after 7:00 am or your waste has a sticker attached to it the contractor will not return to collect your materials. 

REPORT A MISSED WASTE COLLECTION

 Garbage Collection Requirements

Program Information: 

In Cornwall there is currently no bag limit for garbage, bulk waste (furniture only) is collected curbside with the weekly garbage. For more information on garbage and to determine your homes garbage day please reference the 2018/2019 Waste Collection Calendar for more information. 

Time:

Garbage is collected weekly in the City of Cornwall. All garbage must be put to the curb for collection after 7:00 pm the day before collection or before 7:00 am the day of collection. For example if garbage collection happened on Monday, a resident could place their garbage out after 7:00 pm on Sunday, but before 7:00 am on Monday. 

Size and Weight Requirements: 

Garbage is collected at residential properties in two ways: 

  1. In containers of 136 L (30 gal) or less and have 2 handles, Garbage can not exceed 27 kgs (60lbs) per container. 
  2. Bags designed for use as garbage bags measuring a maximum of 106 cm x 120 cm, Garbage can not exceed 27 kgs (60lbs) per bag. 

Small grocery bags will not be accepted curbside they must either be placed in a larger garbage bag or inside a garbage can for collection. Garbage left in cardboard boxes will not be collected. Please do not tie lids to the garbage can and remove any bungee cords to avoid pitcher injury. 

Restrictions: 

The following items will not be collected with the garbage collection: 

  • Hazardous Waste
  • Tires
  • Electronics
  • White goods or appliances
  • Mattresses 
  • Construction and demolition waste (insultation, drywall, flooring, framing, tile, toilets, showers, vanities, etc.)
  • Shingles
  • Needles, syringes, medications, and sharp objects (broken glass should be placed in a bag inside another bag to protect the collector) 

 

Recycling Collection Requirements 

Program Information: 

In Cornwall there is a single stream recycling collection, meaning no sorting is required for paper and plastics, they all go into the same box(es) each week for collection and are sorted at our Material Recovery Facility. If you are unsure of what goes into the blue box please reference the 2018/2019 Waste Collection Calendar for more information. 

Time: 

Recycling is collected weekly in the City of Cornwall. All recycling must be put to the curb for collection after 7:00pm the day before collection or before 7:00 am the day of collection. For example if recycling collection happened on Monday, a resident could place their recycling out after 7:00 pm on Sunday, but before 7:00 am on Monday. 

Size and Weight Requirements: 

Recycling is currently collected from residential properties in two ways: 

  1. In a blue box or black box, the boxes must not weigh more than 27 kgs (60lbs)
  2. In a clear or transparent blue bag, the bags must not weigh more than 27 kgs (60lbs)

Large pieces of Corrugated Cardboard must be bundled seperately from the recycling box in section of 1m x1mx 30cm thick. Large cardboard may also be placed in an open cardboard box for collection with dimensions not exceeding 75 cmx 75cm x 75cm. The City asks for the publics assistance in this method as there is a seperate section in the truck for cardboard, limiting its acceptable size and is why it cannot be mixed in with the rest of the recycling. 

Restrictions: 

The following items will not be collected with recycling collection: 

  • Recycling boxes or bags that are contaminated with garbage 
  • Large plastic toys
  • Large pieces of scrap metal 
  • Styrofoam
  • Plastic film
  • Batteries 
  • Hazardous waste
  • Construction and demolition waste

 

Multi-Residential Unit Waste Collection 

The following information is applicable to multi-residential properties which host 7 or more units. For any buildings smaller then 7 units, please follow the regular garbage and recycling collection schedule and information listed in the drop down menus above. 

If you are a multi-residential building owner and would like to set up a recycling program in your building please fill out this form and a member from the Waste Management team will contact you to develop a program that works best for you and your tenants. 

 Garbage Collection

Program Information: 

In Cornwall garbage collection for multi-residential buildings is curretnly offered to those buildings not participating in the City's Waste Credit program. If your building participates in the waste credit program, your building is not eligible for any curbside waste at any time during the year. For buildings who do not participate in the Waste Credit program please reference this map to determine your day for curbside garbage collection.

Time:

Garbage is collected weekly in the City of Cornwall. All garbage must be put to the curb for collection after 7:00 pm the day before collection or before 7:00 am the day of collection. For example if garbage collection happened on Monday, a resident could place their garbage out after 7:00 pm on Sunday, but before 7:00 am on Monday. 

Size and Weight Requirements: 

Garbage is collected at multi-residential properties in two ways: 

  1. In containers of 136 L (30 gal) or less and have 2 handles, Garbage can not exceed 27 kgs (60lbs) per container. 
  2. Bags designed for use as garbage bags measuring a maximum of 106 cm x 120 cm, Garbage can not exceed 27 kgs (60lbs) per bag. 

Small grocery bags will not be accepted curbside they must either be placed in a larger garbage bag or inside a garbage can for collection. Garbage left in cardboard boxes will not be collected. Please do not tie lids to the garbage can and remove any bungee cords to avoid pitcher injury. 

Restrictions: 

The following items will not be collected with the garbage collection: 

  • Hazardous Waste
  • Tires
  • Electronics
  • White goods or appliances
  • Mattresses 
  • Construction and demolition waste (insultation, drywall, flooring, framing, tile, toilets, showers, vanities, etc.)
  • Shingles
  • Needles, syringes, medications, and sharp objects (broken glass should be placed in a bag inside another bag to protect the collector)
 Recycling Collection

Program Information: 

In Cornwall there is a single stream recycling collection, meaning no sorting is required for paper and plastics, they all go into the same box(es) each week for collection and are sorted at our Material Recovery Facility. If you are unsure of what goes into the blue box please reference the 2018/2019 Waste Collection Calendar for more information. 

Time: 

Recycling is collected weekly in the City of Cornwall. All recycling must be put to the curb for collection after 7:00pm the day before collection or before 7:00 am the day of collection. For example if recycling collection happened on Monday, a resident could place their recycling out after 7:00 pm on Sunday, but before 7:00 am on Monday. For large multi-unit apartment owners with recycling carts, you will be provided with a collection day when your carts are delivered, these days do not correlate with the collection map provided to residents. 

Size and Weight Requirements: 

Recycling is currently collected from multi-residential properties in three ways: 

  1. In a blue box or black box, the boxes must not weigh more than 27 kgs (60lbs)
  2. In a clear or transparent blue bag, the bags must not weigh more than 27 kgs (60lbs)
  3. In a large 95 gallon recycling cart, the cart must have a metal bar on the front and be approved for use by the City of Cornwall. 

Large pieces of Corrugated Cardboard must be bundled seperately from the recycling box in section of 1m x1mx 30cm thick. Large cardboard may also be placed in an open cardboard box for collection with dimensions not exceeding 75 cmx 75cm x 75cm. The City asks for the publics assistance in this method as there is a seperate section in the truck for cardboard, limiting its acceptable size and is why it cannot be mixed in with the rest of the recycling. 

Restrictions: 

The following items will not be collected with recycling collection: 

  • Recycling boxes or bags that are contaminated with garbage 
  • Large plastic toys
  • Large pieces of scrap metal 
  • Styrofoam
  • Plastic film
  • Batteries 
  • Hazardous waste
  • Cosntruction and demolition waste

phone icon Contact Us

Waste Management Division
861 Second Street West, Box 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
T.: 613-937-1777
Email this contact
Map this location

Le saviez-vous?

  • À Cornwall, un ménage moyen génère chaque semaine deux sacs de déchets (600 kg par année) et une boîte de recyclage (140 kg par année).
  • Les employés chargés de la collecte des déchets et des matières recyclables desservent 4 400 foyers par jour, ce qui correspond à 550 foyers à l’heure, beau temps, mauvais temps!

Le Service de gestion des déchets de la Ville de Cornwall gère les déchets et le recyclage. Actuellement, la ville a recours aux services de l’entreprise HGC Management Inc. pour la collecte des déchets et des matières recyclables en bordure de rue, qui a lieu chaque semaine. Veuillez consulter les sections ci-dessous pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet des programmes offerts.

 Signalez une collecte de déchets manquée

Si vous avez placé vos déchets à l’extérieur, au moment approprié, que vous respectez toutes les exigences du règlement municipal sur les déchets solides et que vos déchets n’ont pas été ramassés, veuillez remplir le présent formulaire et un camion reviendra à votre domicile pour venir les chercher. Veuillez prendre note que si vous avez mis vos déchets après 7 heures du matin ou que vous trouvez sur votre sac un autocollant, l’entrepreneur ne reviendra pas pour faire la collecte.

SIGNALEZ UNE COLLECTE DE DÉCHETS MANQUÉE

 Exigences s’appliquant à la collecte des déchets

Renseignements sur le programme :
Actuellement, la Ville de Cornwall n’impose pas de limite quant au nombre permis de sacs de déchets; les déchets encombrants (meubles uniquement) sont collectés chaque semaine en bordure de rue avec les déchets réguliers. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les déchets et pour connaître le jour de collecte pour votre foyer, veuillez consulter le calendrier de collecte des déchets et des matières recyclables 2018/2019.

Calendrier
Les déchets ménagers sont recueillis une fois par semaine. Ils doivent être placés en bordure de rue après 19 heures la veille du jour de collecte ou avant 7 heures le jour de collecte. Ainsi, si la collecte de déchets tombe un lundi, un résident peut mettre ses déchets après 19 heures le dimanche et avant 7 heures le lundi.

Exigences en matière de taille et de poids
Les déchets des propriétés résidentielles sont collectés comme suit :

  • Dans des contenants de 136 litres (30 gallons), ou moins ayant deux poignées - 27 kg (60 livres) au maximum par contenant.
  • Dans des sacs de type sacs à ordures : taille maximale de 106 cm x 120 cm, 27 kg (60 livres) au maximum par sac.

Les petits sacs d’épicerie ne seront pas acceptés en bordure de rue; ils doivent être mis dans un sac à déchets plus grands ou à l’intérieur d’une poubelle. Les déchets laissés dans des boîtes en carton ne seront pas ramassés. Veuillez ne pas fermer le couvercle de la poubelle et retirer tous les élastiques pour éviter que les personnes chargées de la collecte ne se blessent.

Restrictions
Les articles suivants ne seront pas collectés avec les déchets réguliers :

  • Déchets dangereux
  • Pneus
  • Déchets électroniques
  • Produits ou appareils blancs
  • Matelas
  • Déchets de construction et de démolition (matériaux isolants, cloisons sèches, revêtement de sol, charpente, tuiles, toilettes, douches, lavabos, etc.)
  • Bardeaux
  • Aiguilles, seringues, médicaments et objets tranchants (le verre brisé doit être placé dans un sac à l’intérieur d’un autre sac afin de protéger l’employé)
 Renseignements sur la collecte des matières recyclables

Renseignements sur le programme
À Cornwall, la collecte des matières recyclables est à flux unique, ce qui signifie qu’il n’y a pas besoin de trier le papier et le plastique. Toutes les matières recyclables doivent être placées dans le même contenant chaque semaine et elles seront triées dans notre installation de récupération des matières. Si vous ne savez pas ce qui va dans la boîte bleue, veuillez consulter le calendrier de collecte des déchets et des matières recyclables 2018/2019 pour obtenir des précisions.

Calendrier
Le recyclage est collecté une fois par semaine. Les matières recyclables doivent être placées en bordure de rue après 19 heures la veille du jour de collecte ou avant 7 heures le jour de collecte. Ainsi, si la collecte de matières recyclables tombe un lundi, un résident peut mettre ses déchets après 19 heures le dimanche et avant 7 heures le lundi.

Exigences en matière de taille et de poids
Les matières recyclables des propriétés résidentielles sont collectées comme suit :

  • Boîte bleue ou noire dont le poids ne doit pas dépasser 27 kg (60 livres)
  • Sac bleu clair ou transparent dont le poids ne doit pas dépasser 27 kg (60 livres)

Les gros cartons ondulés doivent être regroupés à côté de la boîte de recyclage en paquets de 1 m x 1m x 30 cm d’épaisseur. Les gros cartons peuvent également être placés dans une plus grosse boîte de carton ouverte n’excédant pas 75 cm x 75 cm x 75 cm. La ville demande l’aide du public à cet égard étant donné que le camion comporte une section distincte pour le carton, ce qui explique la limite de taille acceptable et le fait que le carton ne peut pas être mis avec les autres matières recyclables.

Restrictions
Les articles suivants ne seront pas collectés avec les matières recyclables :

  • Boîtes ou sacs de recyclages contaminés par des déchets
  • Gros jouets en plastique
  • Gros déchets en métal
  • Polystyrène
  • Film plastique
  • Piles
  • Déchets dangereux
  • Déchets de construction et de démolition
 Collecte des déchets dans les immeubles à logements multiples

Les renseignements suivants s’appliquent aux propriétés à logements multiples qui accueillent 7 logements ou plus. Pour les édifices de moins de 7 logements, le calendrier régulier de collecte des déchets et des matières recyclables et les renseignements repris dans les menus déroulants ci-dessus s’appliquent.

Si vous êtes propriétaire d’un immeuble à logements multiples et que vous souhaitez établir un programme de collecte de matières recyclables dans votre immeuble, veuillez remplir le présent formulaire et un membre de l’équipe de gestion des déchets communiquera avec vous pour mettre en place un programme qui correspond le mieux à vos besoins et à ceux de vos locataires.

 

 Collecte des déchets

Renseignements sur le programme
À Cornwall, la collecte des déchets pour les immeubles à logements multiples est actuellement offerte pour les immeubles qui ne participent pas au programme de crédit des déchets de la ville. Si votre immeuble est inscrit à ce programme, vous n’êtes, en aucun temps durant l’année, admissible à la collecte de déchets en bordure de rue. Les propriétaires d’immeubles qui ne participent pas au programme de crédit des déchets sont invités à consulter la présente carte pour déterminer quel est le jour de collecte en bordure de rue pour leurs immeubles respectifs.

Calendrier
Les déchets ménagers sont recueillis une fois par semaine. Ils doivent être placés en bordure de rue après 19 heures la veille du jour de collecte ou avant 7 heures le jour de collecte. Ainsi, si la collecte de déchets tombe un lundi, un résident peut mettre ses déchets après 19 heures le dimanche et avant 7 heures le lundi.

Exigences en matière de taille et de poids
Les déchets des immeubles à logements multiples sont collectés comme suit :

  • Dans des contenants de 136 litres (30 gallons) ou moins, ayant deux poignées - 27 kg (60 livres) au maximum par contenant.
  • Dans des sacs de type sacs à ordures : taille maximale de 106 cm x 120 cm, 27 kg (60 livres) au maximum par sac.

Les petits sacs d’épicerie ne seront pas acceptés en bordure de rue; ils doivent être mis dans un sac à déchets plus grands ou à l’intérieur d’une poubelle. Les déchets laissés dans des boîtes en carton ne seront pas ramassés. Veuillez ne pas fermer le couvercle de la poubelle et retirer tous les élastiques pour éviter que les personnes chargées de la collecte ne se blessent.

Restrictions
Les articles suivants ne seront pas collectés avec les déchets réguliers :

  • Déchets dangereux
  • Pneus
  • Déchets électroniques
  • Produits ou appareils blancs (appareils ménagers)
  • Matelas
  • Déchets de construction et de démolition (matériaux isolants, cloisons sèches, revêtement de sol, charpente, tuiles, toilettes, douches, lavabos, etc.)
  • Bardeaux
  • Aiguilles, seringues, médicaments et objets tranchants (le verre brisé doit être placé dans un sac à l’intérieur d’un autre sac afin de protéger l’employé)
 Collecte des matières recyclables

Renseignements sur le programme
La collecte des matières recyclables est à flux unique, ce qui signifie qu’il n’y a pas besoin de trier le papier et le plastique. Toutes les matières recyclables doivent être placées dans le même contenant chaque semaine et elles seront triées dans notre installation de récupération des matières. Si vous ne savez pas ce qui va dans la boîte bleue, veuillez consulter le calendrier de collecte des déchets et des matières recyclables 2018/2019.

Calendrier
Le recyclage est collecté une fois par semaine. Les matières recyclables doivent être placées en bordure de rue après 19 h la veille du jour de collecte ou avant 7 h le jour de collecte. Ainsi, si la collecte de matières recyclables tombe un lundi, un résident peut mettre ses matières recyclables après 19 heures le dimanche et avant 7 heures le lundi. Les propriétaires des gros immeubles à logements multiples ayant des bacs de recyclage seront informés, au moment de la livraison des bacs, de la journée de la collecte. Ces journées ne correspondent pas à celles inscrites sur la carte de collecte fournie aux résidents.

Exigences en matière de taille et de poids
Les matières recyclables des immeubles à logements multiples sont collectées comme suit :

  • Boîte bleue ou noire dont le poids ne doit pas dépasser 27 kg (60 livres)
  • Sac bleu clair ou transparent dont le poids ne doit pas dépasser 27 kg (60 livres)
  • Gros bac de recyclage de 95 gallons, qui comporte une barre de métal sur le devant et qui a été approuvé pour être utilisé par la Ville de Cornwall.

Les gros cartons ondulés doivent être regroupés à côté de la boîte de recyclage en paquets de 1 m x 1m x 30 cm d’épaisseur. Les gros cartons peuvent également être placés dans une plus grosse boîte de carton ouverte n’excédant pas 75 cm x 75 cm x 75 cm. La ville demande l’aide du public à cet égard étant donné que le camion comporte une section distincte pour le carton, ce qui explique la limite de taille acceptable et le fait que le carton ne peut pas être mis avec les autres matières recyclables

Restrictions
Les articles suivants ne seront pas collectés avec les matières recyclables :

  • Boîtes ou sacs de recyclages contaminés par des déchets
  • Gros jouets en plastique
  • Gros déchets en métal
  • Polystyrène
  • Film plastique
  • Piles
  • Déchets dangereux
  • Déchets de construction et de démolition

phone icon Contactez Nous

Département de gestion des déchets
861 rue 2ième ouest, Boîte 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
: 613-937-1777
Envoyer un courriel
Emplacement sur la carte