The City of Cornwall has been making significant improvements to the community's sewer network.

The Cornwall Blueprint is a comprehensive plan to deal with issues such as basement flooding mitigation and environmental, water and infrastructure awareness. It serves to address two key pillars of the City's Strategic Plan - Quality of Life and Efficient Services.

Below you will find additional links and information on the Blueprint initiative and related flooding mitigation programs and initiatives.

 Flood Risk Reduction Rebate Program

Cornwall City Council has approved the framework for a new flood risk reduction rebate program to provide assistance to homeowners in flooding-affected areas.

The program provides a rebate of up to $3,600.00 to homeowners for specified work on private property that reduces flooding risk.

The program encourages installation of a backwater valve on the sanitary sewer lateral.

Other program objectives include redirecting eavestrough downpipes and foundation drains (weeping tiles) from the sanitary sewer to a storm or surface outlet, which helps to reduce flow in sanitary sewers.

Sanitary sewers are typically not designed to accommodate foundation drainage and these flows are a significant contributor to sewer overloading.

The objectives of the program are:

  • Reduce risk of flooding caused by sewer back-ups
  • Reduce contribution from storm run-off and groundwater to the municipal sanitary sewer network 
  • Encourage open dialogue between City staff and residents about flooding causes and protection
 Flood Risk Reduction Rebate Components

Eavestrough downspout disconnection

Downspout disconnection (with plugging of connection to sanitary sewer) and re-routing to surface drainage or other suitable outlet. The available subsidy is the lesser of $100 or 80% of eligible costs. The City may, at its 
discretion, disallow other rebates if downspouts remain connected (or are suspected of being connected) to the sanitary sewer.

Rebate of eligible costs: lesser of $100 or 80%, to a program maximum of $3,600

 

Backwater valve installation

Interior
Certified backwater valve (home interior) installation. The available subsidy is the lesser of $500 or 80% of eligible costs. Homeowners are also encouraged to undertake the foundation drain disconnection (if necessary) to reduce the risk of a possible self-flooding condition.

Rebate of eligible costs: lesser of $500 or 80%, to a program maximum of $3,600

Exterior
Certified backwater valve (home exterior) installation. The available subsidy is the lesser of $1,000 or 80% of eligible costs. Homeowners are also encouraged to undertake the foundation drain disconnection (if necessary) to reduce the risk of a possible self-flooding condition

Rebate of eligible costs: lesser of $1,000 or 80%, to a program maximum of $3,600

 

Foundation drain disconnection

Foundation drain disconnection from sanitary sewer and either re-routing to sump pit with sump pump installation and surface discharge, or re-directing outlet to storm sewer. The available subsidy is the lesser of $2,000 or 80% of eligible costs.

Rebate of eligible costs: lesser of $2,000 or 80%, to a program maximum of $3,600

 

Lot grading improvements

Lot grading improvements (shed water away from the foundation). The available subsidy is the lesser of $500 or 80% of eligible costs.

Rebate of eligible costs: lesser of $500 or 80%, to a program maximum of $3,600

 Flood Risk Reduction Rebate Application Process
  1.  Fill out the application. (Available at the Municipal Works office). Submit to: Infrastructure & Municipal Works Department, ATTN: Flood Risk Reduction Rebate Program
  2. Allow one week for the City to contact you regarding your application.  Applications will be prioritized and a site visit will be scheduled with City staff. 
  3. Contact a licensed plumber or certified contractor to complete the appropriate upgrade(s). Permits must be obtained from: Permits Office, 100 Water St. E., Civic Complex. 
  4. Schedule rebate inspection upon completion of work.
  5. Submit rebate form to:
    Infrastructure & Municipal Works Department
    1225 Ontario Street
    Cornwall, ON K6H 4E1
    ATTN: Flood Risk Reduction Rebate Program
  6. The City will endeavour to issue a rebate within four to six weeks.
  7. Upon request, the City will provide a summary letter to the resident of upgrades undertaken.

For questions contact Tracy Gordon, Flood Risk Program Coordinator 613-930-2787 ext. 2271

Homeowners should note that some upgrades under the Rebate Program will require a permit and inspection to ensure compliance with the Ontario Building Code. This process is administered by The Permits Office and is separate from the Flood Risk Reduction Rebate Program. 

Please call the Permits Office for more information: 613-930-2787 ext. 2323

 Dialogue and Consultation with Stakeholders

Dialogue and consultation with residents and stakeholders is a key component of the Cornwall Blueprint initiative.

Through phone calls, online surveys and in-person conversations, the Infrastructure and Municipal Works Department has received input from hundreds of Cornwall homeowners. This input has assisted the Department in better understanding the 2010 and 2013 flooding events as well as the overall needs of the City's storm and sanitary sewer networks.

The Department continues to hold a series of Public Information Sessions to provide updates to the community-at-large on flood risk reduction projects that have been completed and/or planned.

  • June 4, 2015 - RBC Bluewater DAy sponsored by SLRIES at RBC Eastcourt Mall
  • May 6, 2015 - Community Science Day sponsored by SLRIES at OPG Centre
  • April 22, 2015 - Flooding by 1000 Drips sponsored by SLRIES at OPG Centre
  • April 10-12, 2015 - Cornwall and Area Chamber of Commerce Spring Home & Leisure Show
  • March 11-12, 2015 - Connecting Water Resources at the Ottawa Convention Centre
  • December 3, 2014 - Science and Nature on Tap sponsored by SLRIES at Schnitzels
  • November 20, 2014 - Water in Your World sponsored by SLRIES at Cornwall Square
  • May 8, 2014 - Annual River Symposium in parternship with SLRIES
  • March 26, 2014 - Public Information Session
 Resources

Please click below on the following PDF links:

Flood Risk Reduction Rebate Guide

Flood Risk Reduction Rebate FAQs 

Flood Risk Reduction Rebate Program Application

March 26, 2014 Public Info Session Presentation

Lawn Watering Restrictions Bylaw FAQs

Flooding Mitigation Projects
 Sewer Infiltration and Inflow Reduction
Extraneous water from infiltration and inflow (I/I) sources reduces the capacity and capability of sanitary, combined sewer systems, and treatment facilities to transport and treat domestic and industrial wastewater. I/I occurs when existing sewer lines and manholes undergo material and joint degradation and deterioration. The elimination of infiltration and inflow by sewer rehabilitation, operation and maintenance programs ensures protection in the investment in the sewer system. This initiative will reduce flow to the Wastewater Treatment Plant, combined sewer overflows and loading to the environment. Source control of I/I is the most cost effective method to limit extraneous flows and prolong large sewer replacement and expansion of treatment facilities and it is a key part of the Cornwall Blueprint.
 Grand/Miron/Eleventh Street Sewer Project

Chronic flooding in the Grand / Miron / Eleventh area will be mitigated by a project which commenced in 2014 to construct deeper sewers on Eleventh, Grand and Miron and redirect sanitary flow to another drainage area where sufficient capacity can be developed. Specifically this includes: . removal of the old Guy St. sewage pumping station. . constructing a new deeper sanitary sewer on Eleventh St. and parts of Grand Ave. and Miron Ave. . constructing a new pumping station at Eleventh and Marlborough Streets with state-of-the-art monitoring and controls, backup power and a new forcemain on Marlborough St. from Eleventh to Sixth Street. . constructing a new storm sewer on Marlborough from Second to Eighth Street to remove existing storm sewer and catchbasin contributions from the combined sewer on Marlborough and provide capacity to accept the flow from Grand / Miron / Eleventh area.

This project was approved for $2 million in funding from the Provincial Municipal Infrastructure Fund, to assist with the $5 million total project cost, with approximately $1.7 million received to date and the balance expected in early 2016.

 Drain and Ditch Maintenance 
Sediment and debris removal and bottom reshaping of strategic open overland storm drainage systems; removal of sediment buildup from within box culverts and corrugated steel pipe culverts located within strategic overland storm drainage systems; removal of sediment and debris from large storm water sewers. To date, all overland storm drainage systems have been cleaned and reshaped.
 Easton Avenue Sewer Inflow Reduction 
As part of the Flood Reduction Initiative developed in response to storms in 2010 and 2013, flooding clusters were identified. Some areas required further investigation to establish appropriate mitigative measures. One such area is south of First St., east of Danis, where the sanitary sewer is prone to backup. Catchbasins in some low areas were found to be connected to the sanitary sewer. The proposed project will redirect these inflows, requiring a storm sewer in Easton Ave from Danis to Anthony, and in parts of Danis and Lefebvre. Approximately 18 catchbasins, along with associated runoff that is collected, will be redirected to the storm network, thus reducing loading in the sanitary network.
 Christy/Dunkirk Flood Risk Reduction Project
Some higher risk areas required further investigation to establish appropriate measures to reduce potential for basement flooding. One such area is the vicinity of Christy and Dunkirk. Investigation determined that the sewer from the area to the north (Birmingham/Lascelle alignment) has high flows, exacerbated by stormwater inflow to the sanitary sewer. Storm sewer construction to intercept these flows is proposed for 2015. Future work includes redirecting flow directly to the Northern Trunk sewer (instead of through the Christy/Dunkirk area then to the Northern Trunk) by constructing a relief sewer on Lemay St. when this street is reconstructed.
 Sewer Separation Projects 
Separation of combined sewers has the objective of reducing wet weather flows in the sewage system and to the Waste Water Treatment Plant. It reduces the potential for basement flooding because flows are lowered in the pipe that houses are connected to. Separation also reduces Combined Sewer Overflow (CSO) volumes and the potential for bypasses from the Wastewater Treatment Plant to the St Lawrence River. It is achieved by constructing new storm sewers so that the combined sewer can be converted to sanitary. Projects are prioritized based on roadway surface condition so that sewer works can be done before resurfacing. Projects proposed for this year are; - Walton St. from McConnell to Guy - Surgenor St. from Boyd to Joyce.
 Boales Drain Culvert Replacement 
The culvert crossing Boales Drain at the intersection of Cumberland Street and Emma Avenue was found to be deteriorated. If not replaced could affect the roadway over it, in addition to possibly obstructing flow in Boales Drain. Cumberland Street and Emma Avenue are both arterial streets and failure would have serious traffic disruption impacts. Boales Drian is a major drainage channel. The existing corrugated steel pipe culvert is to be replaced with a concrete box culvert.
 Eamers Corners Stormwater Retention Pond 
A stormwater retention pond is to be constructed on the south side of McKenzie Street, between Ross Avenue and Pitt Street, on land the City purchased some years previously. Work includes upgrade of the large culvert crossing Pitt Street at McKenzie. The pond's purpose is to balance runoff from Eamers Corners with the culvert crossing under Hwy 401 and into the South Branch of the Raisin River. Surface flooding at the south end of Eamers Corners is contributing to inflow and infiltration into the sanitary sewer. In past years construction of storm sewers and redirection of about 75% of foundation drains has reduced extraneous water from infiltration and inflow (I/I). This project will reduce potential for both surface flooding and stormwater contribution to the sanitary sewer.
 Seventh Street Low Impact Development (LID) Stormwater Management 
Reconstruction of Seventh Street East from Sydney Street to east of Amelia Street was identified as an opportunity to initiate a stormwater management demonstration project. Low Impact Development techniques are an effective way to transform the high volume, rapid response of impervious urban watersheds into something that is more consistent with a predevelopment environment. Primarily by means of vegetation topped bioswales that promote infiltration/groundwater recharge, runoff storage, and evapotranspiration, stormwater is attenuated and the total contribution to the sewer outlet is reduced. Because in this case the sewer outlet is a combined sewer, the reduced discharge helps to lower flows to the wastewater treatment plant and reduces risk of sewer overloading and potential for basement flooding. LID techniques can improve a community's visual environment as well, and have been successfully applied throughout North America. For more see http://water.epa.gov/polwaste/green/bbfs.cfm
 Plan 240 (Grant's Subdivision) Stormwater Collection Improvements
Replacement/construction of new inlet structures to the Boales Drain within the limits of Plan 240 (west side of Brookdale Avenue, south of Tollgate Road) will enable surface runoff from a 1:100 year storm to enter the Boales Drain box culvert. This major storm drainage system was designed to convey the 1:100 year flood, and improvements in capturing runoff will reduce ponding and localized surface flooding which contributes to sewer inflow/infiltration. In addition, manhole covers deemed susceptible to inflow will be sealed, thus reducing stormwater contribution to the sewer system in an area severely impacted by rain events in 2010 and 2013.
 Sewer Network Monitoring 
To better understand the baseflow (dry weather) and storm response (wet weather) of sewer collection systems, 16 flow monitors have been installed at various locations within the trunk sewer network. Information on sewer flows is available in realtime, accessible through a web browser. Together with computer modeling, this is an integral component of assessment of future upgrades to infrastructure and understanding of impacts of future growth and development. It will help to identify mechanisms of sewer overloading which affect the various flooding clusters, and in turn permit optimal use of capital and other programs for I/I reduction and flood-proofing, as part of the Cornwall Blueprint. A dedicated weather station with data logger located at the Municipal Works administration building is part of the monitoring effort, to quantify the volume and duration of rainfall, and therefore be able to assess the impact of various rain events on sewer flows.

For more information, please contact:
John St. Marseille
General Manager, Infrastructure & Municipal Works
613-930-2787 ext. 2201

Michael Fawthrop
Division Manager, Infrastructure Planning
613-930-2787 ext. 2209

phone icon Contact Us

John St. Marseille
General Manager, Infrastructure & Municipal Works
1225 Ontario Street, Box 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
T.: 613-930-2787 ext. 2201
F.: 613-932-8891
Email this contact
Map this location


Michael Fawthrop
Division Manager, Infrastructure
1225 Ontario Street, Box 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
T.: 613-930-2787 ext. 2209
F.: 613-932-8891
Email this contact
Map this location

La ville de Cornwall a apporté des améliorations importantes au réseau d'égouts de la collectivité.

L'Empreinte bleu de Cornwall est un plan complet visant à traiter diverses questions, telles que l'atténuation des inondations des sous sols et la sensibilisation à l'environnement, au traitement des eaux et à l'infrastructure.

Elle sert à appuyer deux piliers essentiels du plan stratégique de la ville de Cornwall : la qualité de vie et l'efficacité des services.

Vous trouverez ci dessous des renseignements et des liens supplémentaires sur l'initiative Empreinte bleu et les initiatives et les programmes d'atténuation des inondations connexes.

 Programme de remises pour la réduction des risques d'inondations

Le Conseil municipal de Cornwall a approuvé le cadre du nouveau programme de remises pour la réduction des risques d'inondations, qui vise à aider les propriétaires dans les zones touchées par les inondations.

Dans le cadre de ce programme, on donne une remise de jusqu'à 3 600,00 $ aux propriétaires pour les travaux déterminés réalisés sur les propriétés privées afin de réduire les risques d'inondations.

Le programme encourage l'installation d'un clapet anti retour sur les conduites latérales des égouts sanitaires.

Le programme a également pour objectif de rediriger les drains de fondation (dalots souterrains) et les tuyaux de descente des gouttières de l'égout sanitaire vers un exutoire pluvial ou en surface, ce qui contribue à réduire le débit dans les égouts sanitaires.

En général, les égouts sanitaires ne sont pas conçus pour recevoir l'eau des drains de fondation, et le débit attribuable à cette eau peut contribuer de manière considérable à la surcharge des égouts.

 Projets d'atténuation des inondations

Afin de réduire les risques d'inondations, la ville de Cornwall réalise actuellement divers projets, dont certains en réaction directe à deux événements de pluie abondante, qui ont eu lieu le 30 septembre 2010 et le 8 juillet 2013 et qui ont causé l'inondation d'un grand nombre de sous sols.

Plusieurs projets visent à réduire les eaux pluviales pénétrant dans les égouts sanitaires, afin de diminuer les possibilités de surcharge, laquelle peut entraîner l'inondation de sous sols.

Voici la liste de ces projets. Afin d'obtenir de plus amples détails sur un projet, veuillez cliquer dessus.

  • Réduction de l'infiltration et du captage des égouts
  • Projet d'égouts de la rue Eleventh et des avenues Grand et Miron
  • Entretien des drains et des fossés
  • Réduction du captage des égouts de l'avenue Easton
  • Projet de réduction des risques d'inondations des rues Christy et Dunkirk
  • Projets de séparation des égouts
  • Remplacement du ponceau du drain Boales
  • Bassin de retenue des eaux pluviales à Eamer's Corners
  • Gestion des eaux pluviales de la rue Seventh par l'aménagement à faible impact (AFI)
  • Améliorations à la collecte des eaux pluviales du Plan 240 (Grant's Subdivision)
  • Contrôle des réseaux d'égouts
 Dialogue et consultations avec les intervenants

Le dialogue et les consultations avec les résidents et les intervenants forment un élément clé de l'initiative Empreinte bleue de Cornwall.

Par des appels téléphoniques, des sondages en ligne et des conversations en personne, le Service de l'infrastructure et des travaux municipaux a recueilli les commentaires de centaines de propriétaires de Cornwall.

Ces commentaires ont permis au Service de mieux comprendre les inondations de 2010 et de 2013, et les besoins généraux relatifs aux réseaux d'égouts sanitaires et pluviaux de la ville.

Le Service tient toujours une série de séances d'information publique, afin de fournir à l'ensemble de la collectivité des mises à jour sur les projets de réduction des risques d'inondations réalisés et prévus.

Vous trouverez ci dessous la liste des activités passées et à venir.

  • le 4 juin 2015 - RBC Bluewater Day sponsored by SLRIES at RBC Eastcourt Mall
  • le 6 mai 2015 - Community Science Day sponsored by SLRIES at OPG Centre
  • le 22 avril 2015 - Flooding by 1000 Drips sponsored by SLRIES at OPG Centre
  • 10-12 avril 2015 - Cornwall and Area Chamber of Commerce Spring Home & Leisure Show
  • 11-12 mars 2015 - Connecting Water Resources at the Ottawa Convention Centre
  • le 3 décembre 2014 - Science and Nature on Tap sponsored by SLRIES at Schnitzels
  • le 20 novembre 2014 - Water in Your World sponsored by SLRIES at Cornwall Square
  • le 8 mai 2014 - Annual River Symposium in parternship with SLRIES
  • le 26 mars 2014 - Public Information Session
 Étapes de demande
  1. Remplissez le formulaire de demande. (Disponible en ligne ou sur papier) À soumettre au : Service de l'Infrastructure et des Travaux municipaux, AU SOIN DE : Programme de réduction des risques d'inondations
  2. Accordez une semaine à la Ville pour vous contacter à propos de votre demande. Les demandes seront classées par ordre de priorité et une visite sera programmée avec le personnel de la Ville.
  3. Appelez un plombier agréé ou un entrepreneur agréé pour réaliser les travaux appropriés. Des permis de construire doivent être obtenus auprès du : Bureau des permis, 100, rue Water E., Complexe Civique.
  4. Fixez la date d'inspection des travaux à la réalisation des travaux.
  5. Soumettez le formulaire de remise au 

    Service de l'Infrastructure et des Travaux municipaux
    1225, rue Ontario
    Cornwall, Ontario
    K6H 4E1
    AU SOIN DE : Programme de réduction des risques d'inondations
  6. La Ville s'efforcera d'émettre un remboursement dans les quatre à six semaines.
  7. Sur demande, la Ville remettra au résident une lettre résumant les améliorations apportées.

 

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez contacter : Tracy Gordon, Coordonnatrice, program de réduction des risques d'inondation 613-930-2787 ext. 2271

 

Les propriétaires devraient noter que certains travaux dans le cadre du programme de remise exigent un permis et une inspection pour en vérifier la conformité au Code du bâtiment de l'Ontario.  Ce processus est administré par le Bureau des permis et est indépendant du programme de réduction des risques d'inondations.  Veuillez appeler le Bureau des permis pour plus de renseignements : 613-930-2787 ext . 2323

 Ressources
Flood Risk Reduction Rebate Guide

Flood Risk Reduction Rebate FAQs 

Flood Risk Reduction Rebate Program Application

March 26, 2014 Public Info Session Presentation

Lawn Watering Restrictions Bylaw FAQs

 

Projets d'atténuation des inondations

 Réduction de l'infiltration et du captage des égouts
Les eaux parasitaires provenant des sources d'infiltration et de captage réduisent la capacité des réseaux d'égouts sanitaires, des réseaux d'assainissement mixtes et des installations de traitement à transporter et à traiter les eaux usées domestiques et industrielles. L'infiltration et le captage surviennent lorsque les conduites et les regards d'égout en place subissent une dégradation et une détérioration matérielles et des joints. L'élimination de l'infiltration et du captage par des programmes de réhabilitation, de fonctionnement et d'entretien des égouts permet de protéger les investissements dans le réseau d'égouts. Cette initiative permettra de réduire le débit vers l'usine de traitement des eaux usées, les déversoirs d'orage et la charge dans l'environnement. Le contrôle à la source de l'infiltration et du captage est la méthode la plus rentable pour limiter le débit des eaux parasitaires et reporter le remplacement des grands conduits d'égout et l'agrandissement des installations de traitement, et constitue une partie essentielle de l'initiative Empreinte bleue de Cornwall.
 Projet d'égouts de la rue Eleventh et des avenues Grand et Miron

L'atténuation des inondations chroniques dans le secteur de la rue Eleventh et des avenues Grand et Miron se fait par un projet qui a débuté en 2014 et qui vise à construire des égouts à une plus grande profondeur le long de la rue Eleventh et des avenues Grand et Miron et à rediriger le débit des égouts sanitaires vers une autre zone de drainage, où une capacité suffisante peut être développée. Plus particulièrement, ce projet comprend ce qui suit : l'élimination de l'ancien poste de pompage d'eaux d'égout sur la rue Guy; la construction de nouveaux égouts sanitaires à une plus grande profondeur le long de la rue Eleventh et de segments des avenues Grand et Miron; la construction d'un nouveau poste de pompage au coin des rues Eleventh et Marlborough avec des contrôles et une surveillance à la fine pointe de la technologie, un système d'alimentation de réserve et une nouvelle conduite de refoulement le long de la rue Marlborough, de la rue Eleventh à la rue Sixth; et la construction d'un nouvel égout pluvial le long de la rue Marlborough, de la rue Second à la rue Eighth, pour pouvoir enlever les apports d'eau de l'égout pluvial et du puisard existants de l'égout unitaire de la rue Marlborough, et fournir la capacité nécessaire pour recevoir le débit provenant du secteur de la rue Eleventh et des avenues Grand et Miron.

Ce projet a été approuvé pour l'octroi de fonds de 2 millions de dollars à partir du fonds provincial sur l'infrastructure municipale, pour aider au financement de son coût total de 5 millions de dollars. On a reçu environ 1,7 million de dollars à ce jour et l'on s'attend à recevoir le reste au début de 2016.

 Entretien des drains et des fossés
L'élimination des sédiments et des débris, et le remodelage du fonds des réseaux de drainage des eaux pluviales en surface ouverts stratégiques; l'élimination des accumulations de sédiments dans les ponceaux à dalot et les buses en tôle d'acier ondulées situés dans les réseaux de drainage des eaux pluviales en surface stratégiques; et l'élimination des sédiments et des débris dans les grands égouts pluviaux. À ce jour, on a nettoyé et remodelé tous les réseaux de drainage des eaux pluviales en surface.
 Réduction du captage des égouts de l'avenue Easton
Dans le cadre de l'initiative de réduction des inondations élaborée à la suite des tempêtes de 2010 et de 2013, on a cerné les secteurs les plus touchés par les inondations. Pour certains secteurs, il a fallu effectuer une enquête plus approfondie afin d'établir les mesures d'atténuation à prendre. Un de ces secteurs se trouve au sud de la rue First et à l'est de l'avenue Danis, où l'égout sanitaire est sujet à des refoulements. Dans certaines zones basses, on a découvert que les puisards étaient reliés à l'égout sanitaire. Le projet proposé visera à rediriger ces eaux de captage, ce qui nécessitera un égout pluvial le long de l'avenue Easton, de l'avenue Danis à la rue Anthony, et le long de certains segments de l'avenue Danis et de la rue Lefebvre. On redirigera environ 18 puisards et le ruissellement connexe collecté vers le réseau d'égouts pluviaux, ce qui contribuera à réduire la charge du réseau d'égouts sanitaires. 
 Projet de réduction des risques d'inondations des rues Christy et Dunkirk
Pour certains secteurs à risque plus élevé, il a fallu effectuer une enquête plus approfondie afin d'établir les mesures à prendre pour réduire les risques d'inondation des sous sols. Un de ces secteurs se trouve dans les environs des rues Christy et Dunkirk. Dans le cadre de l'enquête, on a déterminé que l'égout provenant du secteur au nord (le tracé rue Birmingham / rue Lascelle) présentait des débits élevés, exacerbés par le captage d'eaux pluviales dans l'égout sanitaire. On propose de construire un égout pluvial pour intercepter ces eaux en 2015. Les travaux futurs comprennent la redirection des débits directement vers le grand collecteur nord (plutôt que par le secteur des rues Christy et Dunkirk, puis vers le grand collecteur nord), en construisant un émissaire d'évacuation le long de la rue Lemay au moment de la reconstruction de cette rue. 
 Projets de séparation des égouts
La séparation des égouts unitaires a pour objectif de réduire les débits d'eaux pluviales dans le réseau d'égouts et en direction de l'usine de traitement des eaux usées. Elle permet de réduire les risques d'inondation des sous sols, parce que les débits sont réduits dans les conduits auxquels les maisons sont rattachées. Elle permet également de réduire les volumes des déversoirs d'orage et les risques de dérivations de l'usine de traitement des eaux usées dans le fleuve Saint Laurent. Pour effectuer la séparation, il faut construire de nouveaux égouts pluviaux, afin que les égouts unitaires puissent être convertis en égouts sanitaires. L'ordre de priorité des projets est établi en fonction de l'état du revêtement des routes, afin que l'on puisse effectuer les travaux en égouts avant le resurfaçage. Pour cette année, les projets proposés sont les suivants : la rue Walton, de l'avenue McConnell à la rue Guy, et la rue Surgenor, de la rue Boyd à la rue Joyce.
 Remplacement du ponceau du drain Boales 
On a constaté que le ponceau traversant le drain Boales à l'intersection de la rue Cumberland et de l'avenue Emma était détérioré. S'il n'est pas remplacé, il pourrait nuire à la route au dessus, en plus d'obstruer le débit dans le drain Boales. Étant donné que la rue Cumberland et l'avenue Emma sont toutes deux des rues artérielles, une défaillance causerait une perturbation grave de la circulation. Le drain Boales est un canal de drainage important. La buse en tôle d'acier ondulée existante sera remplacée par un ponceau à dalot en béton.
 Bassin de retenue des eaux pluviales à Eamer's Corners
Un bassin de retenue des eaux pluviales sera construit du côté sud de la rue McKenzie, entre l'avenue Ross et la rue Pitt, sur le terrain que la ville a acheté il y a quelques années. Les travaux comprennent la mise à niveau du grand ponceau traversant la rue Pitt à la rue McKenzie. Le bassin aura pour but d'équilibrer les débits d'écoulement d'Eamer's Corners avec le ponceau passant sous l'autoroute 401 et débouchant dans le bras sud de la rivière Raisin. Les inondations en surface au bout sud d'Eamer's Corners contribuent au captage et à l'infiltration de l'égout sanitaire. Au cours des dernières années, la construction d'égouts pluviaux et la redirection d'environ 75 % des drains de fondation ont contribué à réduire les eaux parasitaires de l'infiltration et du captage. Ce projet permettra de réduire les risques de l'écoulement des eaux pluviales et des inondations en surface dans l'égout sanitaire. 
 Gestion des eaux pluviales de la rue Seventh par l'aménagement à faible impact (AFI)  
On a déterminé que la reconstruction de la rue Seventh Est, de la rue Sydney jusqu'à l'est de la rue Amelia, était une occasion de lancer un projet de démonstration de gestion des eaux pluviales. Les techniques d'aménagement à faible impact constituent une façon efficace de transformer le comportement de transport rapide et à volume élevé de l'eau des bassins hydrographiques urbains imperméables en quelque chose qui corresponde davantage à l'état initial de l'environnement. À l'aide, principalement, d'écobaissières surmontées de végétation qui favorisent l'infiltration / la recharge de la nappe phréatique, le stockage des eaux de ruissellement et l'évapotranspiration, on atténue les eaux pluviales et l'on réduit l'écoulement total du point de rejet de l'égout. Étant donné que dans ce cas ci, il s'agit d'un égout unitaire, la réduction du rejet contribue à réduire les débits en direction de l'usine de traitement des eaux usées, et les risques de surcharge de l'égout et d'inondation des sous sols. Les techniques d'AFI peuvent également permettre d'améliorer l'environnement visuel d'une collectivité, et ont été appliquées avec succès aux quatre coins de l'Amérique du Nord. Afin d'obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, veuillez consulter le lien suivant : http://water.epa.gov/polwaste/green/bbfs.cfm.
 Améliorations à la collecte des eaux pluviales du Plan 240 (Grant's Subdivision)
Le remplacement / la construction de nouvelles structures d'entrée pour le drain Boales à l'intérieur des limites du Plan 240 (du côté ouest de l'avenue Brookdale et au sud du chemin Tollgate) permettront l'entrée des eaux de ruissellement d'une tempête à récurrence de 100 ans dans le ponceau à dalot du drain Boales. Cet important réseau de drainage des eaux pluviales a été conçu pour transporter les eaux d'une inondation à récurrence de 100 ans, et les améliorations au captage des eaux de ruissellement permettront de réduire la formation de flaques d'eau et les inondations en surface localisées, qui contribuent à l'infiltration et au captage dans l'égout. De plus, les tampons de regard considérés comme sujets au captage seront scellés, ce qui réduira l'écoulement des eaux pluviales dans le réseau d'égouts, dans un secteur qui a été touché gravement par les événements de fortes précipitations de 2010 et de 2013.
 Contrôle des réseaux d'égouts
Afin de mieux comprendre le débit de base (temps sec) et le comportement en cas de tempête (temps de pluie) des réseaux de collecte des eaux d'égout, on a installé 16 appareils de contrôle du débit à divers endroits dans le réseau d'égouts collecteurs. Les renseignements sur les débits des égouts sont disponibles en temps réel et accessibles par un navigateur Web. Avec la modélisation informatique, cela fait partie intégrante de l'évaluation des mises à niveau futures de l'infrastructure, et de la compréhension des impacts de la croissance et du développement futurs. Cela aidera à cerner les mécanismes de surcharge des égouts qui ont une incidence sur les divers secteurs touchés par les inondations, et, ainsi, permettra l'utilisation optimale des programmes d'immobilisations et des autres programmes pour la réduction de l'infiltration et du captage et la protection contre les inondations, dans le cadre de l'initiative Empreinte bleue de Cornwall. Un poste d'observations météorologiques spécialisé muni d'un enregistreur de données et situé à l'immeuble administratif des Travaux municipaux fait partie des efforts de contrôle, et a pour but de quantifier le volume et la durée des précipitations et, ainsi, de permettre l'évaluation de l'impact des divers événements de précipitations sur les débits des égouts. 

 


Cliquez ici pour envoyée un couriel à John St. Marseille
Directeur général, infrastructures et travaux municipaux
613-930-2787 poste. 2201

Cliquez ici pour envoyée un couriel à Michael Fawthrop
Chef de division, planification des infrastructures
613-930-2787 poste. 2209

 

phone icon Contactez Nous

John St. Marseille
Directeur général, infrastructure et services municipaux
1225 rue Ontario, Boîte 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
: 613-930-2787 ext. 2201
: 613-932-8891
Envoyer un courriel
Emplacement sur la carte


Michael Fawthrop
Directeur de division, infrastructure
1225 rue Ontario, Boîte 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
: 613-930-2787 ext. 2209
: 613-932-8891
Envoyer un courriel
Emplacement sur la carte