Front sign at the Glen Stor Dun Lodge surrounded by trees

This 132-bed non-profit facility offers long-term care and outreach services to the citizens of our community. The Lodge building is a four-storey custom-designed structure.

The ground floor consists of social amenities and community areas. The three upper floors are resident areas, with 108 private rooms, two of which are short-stay rooms, 12 semi-private rooms with two beds each, resident galleries, dining rooms, activity rooms and personal care areas.

The special care unit houses 44 residents, divided into male and female areas. A special care garden, with a raised vegetable bed for a gardening program, is available for special care residents.

Outdoor resident areas include a verandah and gazebo, which residents and families enjoy tremendously in the summer months.

Admission
 

Application and Fees

Long Term Care centres, also known as nursing homes and homes for the aged, are available for people who are not able to live independently or in their own homes, and who require a 24-hour nursing service to be available to meet their nursing and personal care needs.

Glen Stor Dun Lodge offers long-term care services and short-term respite care. To apply, please contact:

Community Care Access Centre (C.C.A.C) for the Eastern Counties
709 Cotton Mill Street
Cornwall, Ontario, K6H 7K7
Telephone: (613) 936-1171  Toll Free: 1-800-267-0852

 

Glen Stor Dun Lodge Fees
The cost of accommodation is set by the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long Term Care schedule.  

Forty percent of the Home's beds are reserved for those Seniors who require finanicial assistance from the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long Term Care. The daily rate to be paid by a subsidized Resident is determined by review of his or her Income Tax statement.

Optional services offered on a fee for service basis to Residents, if they wish to utilize them, are listed below. A fee schedule outlining the cost associated with each of these services may be obtained from the Lodge Bank.

 Hairdressing 

  • Cable Television 
  • Telephone 
  • Activities Off Location 
  • Dry Cleaning 
  • Escorts / Sitters 
  • Tuck Shop Items
  • Drugs Not Covered by Drug Benefit Plan 
  • Foot Care 
  • Dental
 Accreditation

The main goal of Accreditation Canada is to help health service organizations achieve a greater degree of excellence in providing service to the benefit of all Canadians. Click here to visit Accreditation Canada's website.

Glen Stor Dun Lodge has ascribed to this principle and has been recognized by the council as an accredited home since 1988. The process of accreditation is designed to assist us in identifying our strengths and weaknesses, staying true to our mission, and maintaining excellence of service within our existing resources.

The Lodge standards and practices are reviewed annually by a compliance advisor from the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.

The Lodge is a proud member of AdvantAge Ontario

 Location

Map identifying Glen Stor Dun Lodge in the City of CornwallGlen Stor Dun Lodge is located in the East end of Cornwall, Ontario, on the north side of Montreal Road, across from the St. Lawrence River, between the NAV-Canada complex (to our East) and East Front Public School (to our West).

Directions from West
Take the 401 travelling East to Cornwall.  Exit at the McConnell Avenue interchange.  Travel South (right turn from the offramp) to Montreal Road (approximately 4.2km).  Turn left, heading East.  Drive for approximately 2.1km and look for the Lodge atop a hill, just past East Front Public School.

Directions from North

Take Highway 138 South to Cornwall.  At the first traffic lights (Cornwall Centre Road), turn left, (East) and drive 1.6km to McConnell Avenue.  Turn right (South) and drive 6.4km to Montreal Road.  Turn left, heading East.  Drive for approximately 2.1km and look for the Lodge atop a hill on your left, just past East Front Public School.

Directions from East

Take the 401 travelling West to Cornwall.  Exit at the Boundary Road interchange.  Travel South (right turn from the offramp) to Montreal Road (approximately 4km).  Turn right at the bottom of the hill, heading East.  Drive for approximately 1.4km and look for the Lodge atop a hill on your right, just past the NAV-Canada complex.

 Management

Committee of Management

  • Leslie O'Shaughnessy, Mayor, City of Cornwall
  • Elaine MacDonald, City of Cornwall Councillor
  • Claude E. McIntosh, City of Cornwall Councillor
  • Frank Prevost, Deputy Mayor, South Glengarry
  • Dennis Fife, Mayor, North Stormong

Department Supervisor

The following directory connects you to department heads. To reach the Lodge by telephone, dial 613-933-3384 and request the individual's extension. Voicemail is available should we not be able to answer your call. To reach us by email, click on the individual's name.

 Residents' Council

The Glen Stor Dun Lodge Residents' Council is founded on the premise that the residents can and should play an important role in the organized daily life of the Lodge and all its activities.

The Residents' Council maintains those social and cultural values and beliefs which olders persons cherish. The Residents' Council manages a fund used to support palliative care, resident intiatives and social functions. Meetings are held on the fourth Tuesday of each month, except July, August and December.

Chair: Patricia Irwin

Secretary:

Treasurer:

Vice-chair: Dorothy Wallace

 Council of Family and Friends

Front driveway leading to Glen Stor Dun LodgeThe Council of Family and Friends is an organized, self-led, self-determining democratic group composed of family and friends of the residents of Glen Stor Dun Lodge.

"Our mission is to contribute to making Glen Stor Dun Lodge a wonderful place in which to live, to visit, and to work, where residents, caregivers, volunteers and staff are truly 'family', through enhancing communication, moral support, respect and recognition."

Council's Role

  • Support the work of the Residents' Council while remaining separate from it
  • Demonstrate its support by listening to concerns, acting on issues, informing and educating, sharing ideas 

 

  • Give families a channel through which to express ideas and concerns about resident quality of life, as well as the    needs of family and friends
  • Bring about positive change
  • Serve as a support group and a liaison between residents, families, friends, volunteers and staff

Council of Family and Friends executive meetings are held on the fourth Wednesday of each month.

Chair: Henry Kyte

Fourth Floor Representatives: Denise Symington, Margaret Gordon

Third Floor Representative: Bernie Thauvette

Second Floor Representatives: Carol Paschek, David Malcolm 

Staff Representatives: Tracey Delage, Alisha Arbuthnot

 Working at the Lodge

The philosophy of resident care at Glen Stor Dun Lodge is simple, but speaks volumes about the atmosphere in our facility and the empathy of our staff.

Together, we follow this approach to customer service: "Be kind, speak gently, love much, and laugh often."

For current job vacancies, click here  or contact the City of Cornwall's Human Resources Department at 613-932-6252 ext. 2306. 

phone icon Contact Us

Norm Quenneville
Administrator, Glen Stor Dun Lodge
1900 Montreal Road, Cornwall ON, K6H 7L1
T.: 613-933-3384 ext. 4223
F.: 613-933-7214
Email this contact
Map this location

Le Glen Stor Dun Lodge est un établissement sans but lucratif, disposant de 132 lits, qui offre des soins de longue durée et des services communautaires aux citoyens de la région. Le Lodge est un établissement de quatre étages conçu en fonction des besoins particuliers des résidents.

Les équipements collectifs et les espaces communs se trouvent au rez-de-chaussée. Les trois autres étages sont prévus pour l’hébergement des résidents. On y trouve 108 chambres individuelles, dont deux réservées aux séjours de courte durée, 12 chambres à deux lits, des galeries pour les résidents, des salles à manger, des salles d’activités et des espaces pour les soins d’hygiène personnelle.

L’unité des soins spéciaux héberge 44 résidents avec des unités distinctes pour les hommes et les femmes. Un jardin, spécialement conçu avec des plates-bandes de légumes surélevées, permet aux résidents de l’unité des soins spéciaux de participer à un programme de jardinage.

Parmi les aménagements extérieurs, on trouve notamment une véranda et un kiosque de jardin, extrêmement appréciés des résidents et des membres de leur famille durant les mois d’été.

 Droits d’entrée

Demandes et frais
Les centres de soins de longue durée, également appelés maisons de soins infirmiers ou foyers pour aînés, sont ouverts pour les personnes qui ne sont plus en mesure de vivre de façon indépendante ni chez eux, et qui ont besoin de soins infirmiers 24 heures sur 24 pour répondre à leurs besoins personnels et de soins infirmiers.

Le Glen Stor Dun Lodge offre des services de soins de longue durée ainsi que des soins de relève de courte durée. Pour déposer une demande, veuillez vous adresser à :

Centre d’accès aux soins communautaires des Comtés de l’est
709 rue Cotton Mill
Cornwall, ON K6H 7K7
Téléphone: 613-936-1171
Sans frais: 1-800-267-0852

Frais du Glen Stor Dun Lodge
Le coût de l’hébergement est établi selon la grille du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée de l’Ontario.

Quarante pour cent des lits à domiciles sont réservés aux aînés qui ont besoin d’une aide financière du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée de l’Ontario. Le prix qu’un résident subventionné doit payer pour une journée est déterminé à la suite d’un examen de sa déclaration de revenus.

D’autres services payants offerts aux résidents qui souhaitent y avoir recours sont énumérés ci-dessous. Vous pouvez obtenir la grille des coûts de chacun de ces services à la banque du Lodge.

  • Coiffeur
  • Câblodistribution
  • Téléphone
  • Activités externes
  • Nettoyage à sec
  • Accompagnement et garde
  • Confiseries
  • Médicaments non pris en charge par un régime d’avantages sociaux
  • Soins des pieds
  • Soins dentaires
 Agrément
L’objectif principal d’Agrément Canada permet aux organisations de services de santé d’atteindre un degré élevé d’excellence en fournissant des services profitant à tous les Canadiens.

Le Glen Stor Dun Lodge souscrit à ce principe et est une résidence agréée reconnue par le conseil depuis 1988. Le processus d’agrément permet de repérer nos forces et faiblesses, en restant fidèles à notre mission et en offrant une excellente prestation de services dans le cadre de nos ressources existantes.

Un conseiller de l’observation du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée évalue chaque année les normes et les pratiques du Lodge.

Le Lodge est fier d’être membre d’AdvantAge Ontario.

 Emplacement
Le Glen Stor Dun Lodge est situé dans la partie est de la ville de Cornwall, en Ontario, du côté nord de la rue Montréal près du fleuve Saint-Laurent, entre le complexe NAV-Canada (à l’est) et l’école publique East Front (à l’ouest).

Comment s’y rendre depuis l’ouest

Prenez l’autoroute 401 et dirigez-vous vers l’est jusqu’à Cornwall. Prenez ensuite la sortie « avenue McConnell ». Dirigez-vous vers le sud (en tournant à droite au bout de la voie de sortie) jusqu’au chemin Montreal, située à environ 4,2 km. Tournez à gauche et dirigez-vous vers l’est. Continuez votre route sur environ 2,1 km. Le Lodge se trouve au sommet d’une colline, juste après l’école publique East Front.

Comment s’y rendre depuis le nord

Prenez l’autoroute 138 vers le sud jusqu’à Cornwall. Aux premiers feux de circulation (route du centre de Cornwall) tournez à gauche vers l’est et poursuivez votre route sur 1,6 km jusqu’à l’avenue McConnell. Tournez à droite vers le sud et continuez à rouler sur 6,4 km jusqu’au chemin Montreal. Tournez à gauche et dirigez-vous vers l’est. Continuez votre route sur environ 2,1 km. Le Lodge se trouve au sommet d’une colline, sur votre gauche, juste après l’école publique East Front.

Comment s’y rendre depuis l’est

Prenez l’autoroute 401 et dirigez-vous vers l’ouest jusqu’à Cornwall. Prenez ensuite la sortie « route Boundary ». Dirigez-vous vers le sud (en tournant à droite au bout de la voie de sortie) jusqu’au chemin Montreal, située à environ 4 km. Tournez à droite au pied de la colline en direction de l’est. Poursuivez votre route sur 1,4 km. Le Lodge se trouve au sommet d’une colline, sur votre droite, juste après le complexe de NAV-Canada.

 Gestion

Comité de gestion

  • Leslie O'Shaughnessy, maire
  • Elaine MacDonald, conseillère
  • Claude E. McIntosh, conseillère
  • Frank Prevost, maire député, South Glengarry
  • Dennis Fife, maire, North Stormont

Directeurs des services

Le répertoire suivant vous permet de communiquer avec les directeurs de services. Pour communiquer avec nous par téléphone, composez le 613-933-3384 et demandez que l’on transfère votre appel au poste de la personne à qui vous désirez parler. Si vous ne pouvez pas nous joindre, laissez-nous un message sur la boîte vocale. Pour communiquer avec nous par courriel, cliquez sur le nom de la personne à qui vous désirez envoyer un message.

  • Norm Quenneville, 4223
  • Sally Munroe, 4222
  • Tracey Delage, 4243
  • Shana Nagy, 4228
  • Anna Marie Donihee, 4234
  • Jennifer Archambault, 4235
 Conseil des résidents
Le conseil des résidents du Glen Stor Dun Lodge repose sur l’idée que les résidents peuvent et doivent jouer un rôle important dans l’organisation de la vie quotidienne du Lodge et de toutes ses activités.

Les membres du conseil des résidents maintiennent les valeurs et croyances sociales et culturelles que les personnes âgées chérissent. Les membres du conseil des résidents gèrent un fonds créé pour soutenir les soins palliatifs, les initiatives des résidents et les fonctions sociales. Les rencontres ont lieu le quatrième mardi de chaque mois, à l’exception des mois de juillet, août et décembre.

Président : Patricia Irwin

Secrétaire :

Trésorier :

Vice-président : Dorothy Wallace

  Comité des familles et des amis

Le comité des familles et des amis du Glen Stor Dun Lodge est un groupe organisé et autogéré, qui édicte ses propres règles démocratiques, et qui est formé par les membres des familles et des amis des résidents.

« Notre mission est de nous assurer que le Glen Stor Dun Lodge demeure un endroit agréable pour vivre et travailler, et à visiter, un lieu où les résidents, le personnel soignant, les bénévoles et les autres membres du personnel forment une “famille” en améliorant la communication, le soutien moral, le respect et la reconnaissance. »

Rôle du comité

  • Soutenir le travail du comité des résidents tout en demeurant un organisme indépendant;
  • Faire preuve de soutien en tenant compte des préoccupations, en tentant de trouver des solutions aux problèmes, en informant et en offrant des séances de formation, et en communiquant les idées;
  • Permettre aux familles d’avoir un réseau où elles peuvent exprimer leurs idées et leurs inquiétudes en ce qui a trait à la qualité de vie des résidents ainsi qu’aux besoins des familles et des amis;
  • Permettre la mise en œuvre de changements positifs;
  • Être un groupe de soutien et de liaison entre les résidents, les familles, les amis, les bénévoles et le personnel.

Les rencontres de direction du comité des familles et des amis ont lieu le quatrième mercredi de chaque mois.

Président : Henry Kyte

Représentants du quatrième étage : Denise Symington, Margaret Gordon

Représentants du troisième étage : Bernie Thauvette

Représentants du deuxième étage : Carol Paschek, David Malcolm

Représentants du personnel : Tracey Delage, Alisha Arbuthnot

 Travailler au Lodge

Au Glen Stor Dun Lodge, la philosophie des soins aux résidents est simple, mais en dit long sur l’environnement dans notre établissement ainsi que sur l’empathie de notre personnel.

Ensemble, nous adoptons cette approche au service à la clientèle : « Être serviable, parler doucement, aimer beaucoup et rire souvent ».

Pour connaître les postes à pourvoir, cliquez ici ou appelez le service des ressources humaines de la ville de Cornwall au 613-932-6252, poste 2306.

phone icon Contactez Nous

Norm Quenneville
Administrateur
1900 rue Montreal, Cornwall ON, K6H 7L1
: 613-933-3384 ext. 4223
: 613-933-7214
Envoyer un courriel
Emplacement sur la carte