Construction Notices

 

Construction Notice 


Project Contact

Mike Hodge - Project Supervisor

Phone : 613-662-5731

Email this contact

Location

Image of 2021 Boals Drain at Benny Avenue 

Background

The City will be replacing the culvert crossing at Boals Drain on Benny Avenue in 2021.

The project involves removing the three (3) existing corrugated steel pipe (CSP) culverts and replacing it with a concrete box culvert.

The existing culverts are in very poor condition and need to be replaced. As a result of poor soil conditions in the area, a helical pile foundation must be installed beneath the new box culvert. The helical piles (also known as screw anchors or screw piles) transfer the weight of the box culvert, onto the pile instead of the soil. The project also involves relocating the watermain beneath the existing culverts.

What to Expect During Construction

The project will involve the following work/stages:

  1. Setting up by-pass pumps and sediment and erosion control measures. These measures protect fish and wildlife. Fun fact - work in streams isn't permitted between March - July 15th of each year to protect spawning fish.
  2. Excavation and removal of the existing culverts.
  3. Installation of a new helical pile foundation.
  4. Installation of the new concrete box culvert.
  5. Relocation of the existing watermain.
  6. Restoration - includes new topsoil and sod and the repair of driveways and walkways.

Before the work starts, you may see utility companies (Enbridge, Bell, etc.) on your street. They are moving infrastructure they own to accommodate the work. If you have any service disruptions, please contact them directly.

There may be days where you don't see the Contractor on site in between the different stages of construction. This is a normal part of the process. The Contractor has many crews that do different types of work.

If you have any questions or concerns, give us a call or e-mail us using the contact information on this page. 


Construction News

Stay up to date on this project by subscribing to this page. Click the green "Subscribe to this Page" button below. When you subscribe, you'll receive email when notices and updates are added to the page.

 Construction Notice

 Anticipated start: July 12

The City of Cornwall will be undertaking the removal of 22m of 3 – 1.12m x 1.63m SPCSP culverts and the installation of 32m of 1.2m high x 3m wide concrete box culvert complete with a pile foundation on Benny Ave this summer. This project is part of the Council approved 2020 Capital Budget.

Work Details:

  • At the onset of construction, you should expect to see the Contractor bring equipment on-site and prepare work areas; you may also see paint marks on the roadway and flags in the boulevard which indicate the location of any buried infrastructure (gas mains, electrical, sewers, etc.).
  • The Contractor will be closing Benny Ave from Eva Avenue to Ellen Avenue
  • The Contractor will be removing the old culvert and/or sewer pipes and replacing with new culverts and/or sewer pipes.
  • The Contractor will replace any concrete curbs or asphalt roadways when the new culvert replacement is completed.

What to Expect During Construction

  • You may experience dust, noise and other inconveniences as a result of construction activities. The City and Contractor will make every effort to minimize impacts to residents as much as possible - we appreciate your patience during construction.
  • Property owners are reminded of the City policy which states that no road cuts be permitted for at least 5 years after resurfacing of a street. If any new or upgrading of services or utilities are anticipated, they should be completed prior to or in conjunction with the work. Please contact the Project Supervisor if you are considering new/upgraded services.

Project Supervisor: Mike Hodge - 613-662-5731

City of Cornwall Dispatch: 613-932-5354

Clarence McDonald Excavation Ltd: 613-932-4494

Subscribe to this Page

phone icon Contact Us

Nouvelles

 

Avis de construction 


Contact du projet

Kyle McIntosh - Superviseur du projet

Téléphone : 613-362-5369

Envoyer un courriel

Emplacement

Image of 2021 Boals Drain at Benny Avenue 

Contexte

La Ville remplacera le passage à niveau du ponceau du drain Boals sur l'avenue Benny en 2021.

Le projet consiste à retirer les trois (3) ponceaux existants en tube d'acier ondulé (CSP) et à les remplacer par un ponceau en béton.

Les ponceaux existants sont en très mauvais état et doivent être remplacés. En raison des mauvaises conditions du sol dans la région, une fondation sur pieux hélicoïdaux doit être installée sous le nouveau ponceau en caisson. Les pieux hélicoïdaux (également connus sous le nom d'ancrages à vis ou pieux vissés) transfèrent le poids du ponceau à caisson sur le pieu plutôt que sur le sol. Le projet consiste également à déplacer la conduite principale sous les ponceaux existants.

À quoi s'attendre durant la construction

Le projet impliquera les travaux / étapes suivants:

  1. Mise en place de pompes de dérivation et de mesures de contrôle des sédiments et de l'érosion. Ces mesures protègent les poissons et la faune. Fait amusant - le travail dans les cours d'eau n'est pas autorisé entre mars et le 15 juillet de chaque année pour protéger les poissons reproducteurs.
  2. Excavation et enlèvement des ponceaux existants.
  3. Installation d'une nouvelle fondation sur pieux hélicoïdaux.
  4. Installation du nouveau ponceau en béton.
  5. Relocalisation de la conduite principale existante.
  6. Restauration - comprend la nouvelle couche arable et le nouveau gazon et la réparation des allées et des allées.

Avant le début des travaux, vous verrez peut-être des entreprises de services publics (Enbridge, Bell, etc.) dans votre rue. Ils déménagent les infrastructures qui leur appartiennent pour accueillir les travaux. Si vous rencontrez des interruptions de service, veuillez les contacter directement.

Il peut y avoir des jours où vous ne voyez pas l'entrepreneur sur place entre les différentes étapes de la construction. C'est une partie normale du processus. L'entrepreneur compte de nombreuses équipes qui effectuent différents types de travaux.

Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, appelez-nous ou envoyez-nous un e-mail en utilisant les informations de contact sur cette page.


Nouvelles

Restez à jour sur ce projet en vous abonnant à cette page. Cliquez sur le bouton vert «S'abonner à cette page» ci-dessous. Lorsque vous vous abonnez, vous recevez un e-mail lorsque des notifications et des mises à jour sont ajoutées à la page.

 Avis de construction

Début prévu : 12 juillet

La Ville de Cornwall entreprendra l'enlèvement de 22 m de ponceaux de 3 – 1,12 m x 1,63 m et l'installation de 32 m de ponceau en béton de 1,2 m de haut x 3 m de large avec une fondation sur pieux sur l'avenue Benny cet été. Ce projet fait partie du budget d'immobilisations 2020 approuvé par le Conseil.

Détails du travail :

  • Au début de la construction, vous devez vous attendre à voir l'entrepreneur apporter l'équipement sur place et préparer les zones de travail ; vous pouvez également voir des marques de peinture sur la chaussée et des drapeaux sur le boulevard qui indiquent l'emplacement de toute infrastructure enfouie (conduites de gaz, électricité, égouts, etc.).
  • L'entrepreneur fermera l'avenue Benny de l'avenue Eva à l'avenue Ellen
  • L'entrepreneur retirera les anciens ponceaux et/ou tuyaux d'égout et les remplacera par de nouveaux ponceaux et/ou tuyaux d'égout.
  • L'entrepreneur remplacera les bordures de béton ou les routes asphaltées lorsque le remplacement du nouveau ponceau sera terminé.

À quoi s'attendre pendant la construction:

  • Vous pouvez rencontrer de la poussière, du bruit et d'autres inconvénients en raison des activités de construction. La Ville et l'entrepreneur feront tout leur possible pour minimiser autant que possible les impacts sur les résidents - nous apprécions votre patience pendant la construction.
  • On rappelle aux propriétaires fonciers la politique de la Ville qui stipule qu'aucune coupe de route n'est permise pendant au moins 5 ans après le resurfaçage d'une rue. Si des services ou des services publics nouveaux ou améliorés sont prévus, ils doivent être terminés avant ou en même temps que les travaux. Veuillez contacter le superviseur de projet si vous envisagez de nouveaux services ou des services améliorés.

Superviseur de projet : Kyle McIntosh - 613-362-5369

Répartition de la Ville de Cornwall : 613-932-5354

Excavation Clarence McDonald Ltée : 613-932-4494

S'abonner à cette page

phone icon Contactez Nous