The City uses Site Plan Approval and these Guidelines to address and resolve design matters related to the proper development of any site.

Site Plan Approval works in conjunction with other approvals such as Zoning or Building Permit approval to provide for well designed and functional sites. The City's general objectives for design are found in the City's Official Plan Chapter 9, Visual Environment and Urban Design as well as throughout other parts of the Official Plan (Waterfront, Heritage Resources). A copy of the Official Plan or excerpts is available from the Planning Department. Site Plan Approval is a Site-specific type of development control authorized under Section 41 of the Planning Act. The Site Plan By-law of the City of Cornwall was approved by Council July 13, 1981 to establish Site Plan Control within the City.

 Exceptions
Site Plan Control generally applies to all construction, development and redevelopment within the boundaries of the City of Cornwall, there are some exceptions. They are:
  • Residential buildings containing four or less family dwelling units and accessory buildings or structures thereto, in any residential zone.
  • Buildings containing 8 units or less developed on lots in Plans of Subdivision registered after July 22, 1974.
  • Less than a total of three (3) temporary portable classrooms accessory to a school.
  • Additions which contain less than 150 m² (1614 sq. ft) of floor space unless they are drive-through facilities, car wash bay additions, or similar uses which require queuing of vehicles.
  • Works which result form the requirements of the Fire Marshall's Act or an Order issued by the Fire Chief.

Under the provisions of this By-law, the Appointed Officer has the discretion to exempt development which would have negligible site impact, from all or part(s) of the City's Site Plan procedures on the basis of the definition of development as described in Section 1, and on the basis of the guidelines outlined in the City's Site Plan Manual.

 Submission Requirements

Please consult with the Site Plan Coordinator at the Planning Department before submitting an application. Before an application will be considered as complete, it will be necessary for the applicant to submit all the following required documentation to the Site Plan Control Coordinator.

The basic Site Plan submission requirements include:

  • Covering letter or brief résumé of project
  • Completed Site Plan Application Form
  • Owner's Authorization (if applicable)
  • Application Fee
  • Digital copies of the required plans in high-quality, vector PDF Format. Printed copies can be requested at the discretion of staff.
  • Required Plans (Refer to checklists contained in this package for information to be shown on plans):
    • Existing Development
    • Site Plan
    • Landscaping Plan
    • Site Servicing Plan
    • Elevations and Floor Plan
    • Grading and Drainage Plan including retention pond calculations.
  • A copy of an Ontario Land Survey (reference plan)
  • Two printed copies of the approved, final plans and a digital copy in high-quality, vector PDF Format

Important note: The total processing time may vary depending on the complexity of the proposal and issues that may be encountered. Where applicable, development cannot proceed without an approved Site Plan Drawing(s), an executed Site Plan Agreement and until all financial requirements have been met.

* Please consult with the Site Plan Coordinator at the Planning Department before submitting an application.

 Site Plan Application Package 

The Site Plan Application Package is thorough and easy to comprehend. Please take note of the Site Plan Example in the package, it has been added to help the proponent and designers to see what is to be expected at the first submission. The package includes:

Please be aware that the applications are placed on the website to help facilitate the application process. However, we strongly urge the applicant to discuss and direct any questions you may have pertaining to the application to staff.

 

phone icon Contact Us

La Ville de Cornwall utilise l'approbation du plan d'aménagement et les lignes directrices qui s'y rapportent afin de résoudre les questions de conception relatives à un aménagement approprié.

L'approbation du plan d'aménagement est étroitement liée à d'autres approbations, notamment l'approbation de zonage et du permis de construire, afin de fournir des sites adéquatement conçus et fonctionnels. Les objectifs généraux de la Ville en matière de conception figurent au chapitre neuf du plan officiel de la Ville, Cadre visuel et aménagement urbain, et à d'autres endroits du plan officiel (Secteurs riverains, Ressources patrimoniales). Une copie ou des extraits du plan officiel sont à votre disposition aux Services d'aménagement. L'approbation du plan d'aménagement consiste en fait à assurer le suivi de l'aménagement d'un site précis autorisé en vertu de l'article 41 de la Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire. Le règlement sur le plan d'aménagement de la Ville de Cornwall a été approuvé par le Conseil municipal le 13 juillet 1981 en vue d'assurer le suivi du plan sur le territoire de la ville.

 Exceptions
Le suivi du plan d'aménagement s'applique généralement à toutes les constructions, à tous les aménagements et réaménagements sur le territoire de la Ville de Cornwall. Il y a toutefois certaines exceptions :
  • Immeubles résidentiels contenant quatre loyers familiaux ou moins et bâtiments ou structures annexes situés dans une zone résidentielle.
  • Immeubles contenant huit unités ou moins aménagés en lots conformément aux plans de lotissements et enregistrés après le 22 juillet 1974.
  • Maximum de trois salles de classe mobiles temporaires annexées à une école.
  • Annexes de moins de 150 m (1614 pieds carrés) de surface utile, sauf s'il s'agit d'une installation de service au volant, d'un abri pour lavage d'auto ou de tout autre service semblable qui nécessiterait que des voitures fassent la file.
  • Travaux découlant de la Loi sur les commissaires des incendies ou d'un ordre donné par le chef des pompiers.

En vertu des dispositions prévues par ce règlement, le responsable nommé a le droit de refuser un aménagement qui pourrait avoir des répercussions négatives, sur une partie ou sur la totalité du plan d'aménagement de la Ville, conformément à la définition d'aménagement à l'article 1 et aux lignes directrices qui figurent dans le manuel du plan d'aménagement de la Ville.

 Exigences de présentation

Avant de présenter une demande, veuillez vous adresser au responsable du plan d'aménagement aux Services d'aménagement. Pour qu'une demande soit complète, il est obligatoire que le demandeur présente tous les documents nécessaires au responsable du plan d'aménagement.

Exigences de présentation d'un plan d'aménagement :

  • Lettre d'accompagnement ou résumé de projet
  • Formulaire de demande de plan d'aménagement rempli
  • Autorisation du propriétaire (le cas échéant)
  • Frais de demande
  • Neuf copies pliées des plans (aucun plan ne sera accepté s'il n'est pas plié)
  • Aménagement actuel, plan d'aménagement, plan d'aménagement paysager, viabilisation, plan de nivellement et de drainage, y compris les calculs de bassin de retenue. Consultez les listes de vérification pour connaitre les renseignements qui doivent figurer sur les plans.
  • Deux copies pliées des plans d'élévations et d'implantation
  • Une copie 8½ x 11 po ou 14 po du plan d'aménagement
  • Une copie pliée de la carte de l'Ontario et des levés (plan de référence)
  • Croquis pliés en format 8½ x 11 po ou 14 po
  • Copie numérique des plans finaux approuvés

Important
Remarque : Le temps de traitement peut varier selon la complexité de la demande et des problèmes qui peuvent survenir en cours de processus. Dans certains cas, l'aménagement ne peut être réalisé sans que les croquis du plan d'aménagement aient été approuvés, qu'une entente de plan d'aménagement ait été signée et que toute exigence en matière de financement ait été remplie.

* Veuillez vous adresser au responsable du plan d'aménagement aux Services d'aménagement avant de présenter une demande.  

 Dossier de demande du plan d'aménagement

Le dossier de demande du plan d'aménagement est concis et facile à utiliser. Veuillez consulter la section Exemple de plan d'aménagement, qui a été ajoutée afin d'indiquer aux demandeurs et aux concepteurs ce que la première proposition doit contenir. Le dossier comprend les documents suivants :

Veuillez prendre note que les demandes sont fournies sur le site web afin de faciliter le processus. Nous prions toutefois les demandeurs d'adresser toute question concernant la demande à nos agents.

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez contacter:

Lindsay Parisien
Planificatrice du développement
100 rue Water est,  Boîte postale 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9

Téléphone: 613-930-2787 poste 2312
Télécopieur: 613-930-7426

phone icon Contactez Nous

Nick Sutherland
Planificateur
100 rue Water est, bureau 104, Boîte 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
: 613-930-2787 ext. 2312
: 613-930-7426
Envoyer un courriel
Emplacement sur la carte