The Committee of Adjustment is under the delegated authority of City Council. It is formed by three lay members of the community, and functions like an informal court or council. 

If you wish to construct a new building, make additions or alterations to an existing building, your proposal must comply with the City of Cornwall Zoning By-law. The same can be said for the erection of signs, or fences, in relation to their applicable By-laws. If it doesn't, you must apply for a minor variance. Typical requests for variances include: lot dimensions, building setbacks, parking requirements, sign size or height, fence height, minor changes in legal non conforming uses, etc.

The Committee also approves severances/consents under the Planning Act, to create new lots, additions to existing lots, allow easements/rights-of-way (such as municipal services, utility services, shared driveways, etc.) and long-term leases (for more than 21 years). 

 Process

The owner or his/her agent must make an application to the Secretary-Treasurer and include sketches or plans with their submissions, indicating the reasons for applying. All assessed owners of property within 60 metres (200 feet) are sent a copy of the application notice, and a sign is posted on the property until the time of the hearing; various City Departments and if necessary, agencies/ministries which could have an interest in the application, are also sent notices concerning each application. The Committee will receive a recommendation report from municipal staff.

At the public meeting, the Committee will hear any additional information from the applicant, they will listen to the municipal staff report, and allow interested parties to speak on the proposal. Typically, a decision is made that same day, or at a subsequent meeting if further information is necessary. Each application is judged on its own merit, and is not precedent setting. In other words, a decision made on one property doesn't necessarily mean the same decision will be made on another. Within 10 days (minor variances) or 15 days (severances) the Committee must notify in writing the applicant/owner and anyone else who has asked to be notified of their decision.

The applicant or someone who requested notice of the decision can appeal a decision, or its conditions, within 20 days of the decision date (minor variances) or of the date written notice is sent (severances/consents). Appeals are sent to Committee's Secretary-Treasurer, who forwards the file contents to the Ontario Land Tribunal. 

 Application Forms and Resources 

Please be aware that the applications are placed on the website to help facilitate the application process. However, we strongly urge the applicant to discuss and direct any questions you may have pertaining to the application to staff.

Meetings

Council Members: None
Lay Members: 3
Frequency of Meetings: every 2 weeks on Tuesdays
Time of Day: 5 p.m.
Location of Meetings: Cornwall Civic Complex, Salon B
Person Calling Meetings:  Pre-scheduled and/or Chair and/or Planning Department 

2022 Committee of Adjustment Meetings

2022 Meetings
DateAgenda LinkMinutes Link
January 18, 2022  AGENDA  MINUTES
February 1, 2022  AGENDA  MINUTES
February 15, 2022   AGENDA  MINUTES
 March 1, 2022  AGENDA  MINUTES
 March 15, 2022  AGENDA  MINUTES
 March 29, 2022  CANCELLED  
 April 12, 2022  AGENDA  MINUTES
April 26, 2022   AGENDA  MINUTES
May 10, 2022  AGENDA  MINUTES
May 24, 2022   AGENDA  MINUTES
June 7, 2022   AGENDA  MINUTES
June 21, 2022  AGENDA  MINUTES
July 5, 2022   AGENDA  
July 19, 2022     
August 2, 2022     
August 16, 2022   
 
August 30, 2022   
 
September 13, 2022     
September 27, 2022     
October 11, 2022     
 
October 25, 2022        
November 8, 2022      
 
November 22, 2022    
 
December 6, 2022        
December 20, 2022     

 

phone icon Contact Us

Christina Seguin
100 Water Street East, Box 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
T.: 613-930-2787 ext. 2362
F.: 613-930-7426
Email this contact
Map this location

Le Comité de dérogation agit en vertu des pouvoirs délégués du Conseil municipal. Il est formé de trois membres de la communauté et fonctionne comme un tribunal ou un conseil informel.

Si vous souhaitez construire un nouveau bâtiment, ajouter des annexes ou effectuer des modifications à un bâtiment existant, votre proposition doit être conforme au règlement de zonage de la Ville de Cornwall. Il en va de même pour l'érection d'enseignes ou de clôtures, par rapport aux règlements qui s'y appliquent. Si votre projet ne respecte pas le règlement, vous devez faire une demande de dérogation mineure. Les demandes typiques de dérogations ont habituellement trait aux dimensions du lot, au retrait des constructions, aux exigences de stationnement, à la taille ou à la hauteur des enseignes, à la hauteur des clôtures, aux changements mineurs aux usages dérogatoires, etc. 

Le Comité approuve également les disjonctions et les consentements conformément à la Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire en vue de créer de nouveaux lots, de faire des ajouts aux lots existants, d'autoriser des servitudes et des droits de passage (comme les services municipaux, les services publics, le partage des entrées, etc.) et des baux à long terme (pour plus de 21 ans).

 Processus

Le propriétaire ou son mandataire doit présenter une demande au secrétaire-trésorier et y joindre des croquis ou des plans, en indiquant les motifs de la demande. Un avis de demande est ensuite envoyé à tous les propriétaires de biens immobiliers existants dans un rayon de 60 mètres (200 pieds) et une affiche est posée sur la propriété jusqu'au moment de l'audition. Des avis concernant chaque demande sont également envoyés aux différents services municipaux et, le cas échéant, aux organismes ou ministères qui pourraient être concernés par la demande. Le Comité reçoit ensuite les recommandations du personnel municipal.

À la séance publique, le Comité entendra tout renseignement supplémentaire proposé par le demandeur ainsi que les recommandations du personnel municipal et permettra aux parties intéressées de s'exprimer sur la proposition. Habituellement, une décision est prise le jour même ou lors d'une prochaine réunion si d'autres renseignements sont nécessaires. Chaque demande est évaluée selon ses propres mérites, et ne constitue pas un précédent. En d'autres termes, une décision prise pour une propriété ne signifie pas nécessairement que la même décision sera prise pour une autre. Dans les 10 jours (dérogations mineures) ou les 15 jours (disjonctions) qui suivent, le Comité doit aviser par écrit le demandeur ou le titulaire, et toute autre personne qui a demandé à être informée de la décision.

Le demandeur, ou toute personne qui a demandé un avis de la décision, peut interjeter appel d'une décision, ou de ses conditions, dans les 20 jours suivant la date de la décision (dérogations mineures) ou la date de l'envoi de l'avis (disjonctions/consentement). Les appels sont envoyés au secrétaire-trésorier du Comité, qui transmet ensuite le dossier à la Commission des affaires municipales de l'Ontario.

 Formulaires de demande et ressources

Veuillez prendre note que les demandes sont fournies sur le site web afin de faciliter le processus. Nous prions toutefois les demandeurs d'adresser toute question concernant la demande à nos agents.

 

Cliquez ici pour envoyée un courriel à Christina Seguin
Secrétaire/trésorière du Comité de dérogation
100 rue Water est, bureau 104, Boîte 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
Téléphone: 613-930-2787 ext. 2362
Fax: 613-930-7426
Emplacement sur la carte

phone icon Contactez Nous

Christina Seguin
Secrétaire/trésorière du Comité de dérogation
100 rue Water est, bureau 104, Boîte 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
: 613-930-2787 ext. 2362
: 613-930-7426
Envoyer un courriel
Emplacement sur la carte