Please click here to submit a complaint with regards to building.

Building Permits are necessary to ensure that applicable provincial laws, zoning requirements and fire and structural safety standards are met.   

Obtaining a Building Permit ensures that your home and other buildings meet these standards in the Ontario Building Code.  The Building Code sets out technical requirements for the construction (including renovations) and demolition of buildings, the change of use of existing buildings.  The Code is essentially a set of minimum provisions respecting the safety of buildings with reference to public health, fire protections, accessibility and structural sufficiency.  Its primary purpose is the promotion of public safety through the application of appropriate uniform building standards.

The City of Cornwall strives to promote a safe and healthy community for its residents.  This extends to the private and publicly-owned buildings with the City. 

Building Officials adhere to a Code of Conduct and are responsible for overseeing and inspecting that the Building Code is followed and implemented. 

Compliance with the Building Code is achieved through mandatory inspections for building permits, demolitions, investigations of work performed without permits. 

Do you Need a Building Permit / Who Should Apply / Projects that Require a Permit

Do you need a Building Permit?A building permit is required before starting a construction, demolition or renovation project, other than the exceptions listed below. This is provided for general guidance and is not an all-encompassing listing. For advice on whether your project requires a permit, contact our Permit Technician at 613-930-2787 ext 2355. 

Who Should Apply?It is the property owner's responsibility to ensure that a building permit is obtained when required. You may authorize your contractor or designer (for example) to apply for the permit, but as the owner you must ensure that you have the permit prior to starting work. 

Projects that Require a Permit

New Construction:

  • Any new building greater than 10m2 (108 ft2) in size (the area of the building's footprint)
  • Any new building that contains plumbing, irrespective of size
  • Any addition to an existing building, irrespective of size
  • Concrete porches
  • Raised decks more than (24") above existing grade at any point
  • Detached or attached garages and carports
  • Solariums
  • Addition of a dormer
  • Sunrooms
  • Installing or changing a swimming pool fence enclosure
  • Tents (645 sq. ft / 60 m2 more ground area)
 Demolition and Alterations:
  • Demolishing any building greater than 10m2 (108 ft2) in size
  • Adding, removing or altering a structural wall or column
  • Adding, removing or altering a non-loadbearing partition
  • Changing the use of a building
  • Installing a basement entrance
  • Relocating a Building
  • Changing a fireplace from gas to wood or solid fuel burning
  • Roughing in a bathroom or washroom
  • Installing a fireplace or wood stove
  • Renovating a dwelling to provide a full basement
  • Construction separate rooms in a basement
  • Installing an accessory apartment
  • Installing any new plumbing piping
  • Repairing or installing an on-site sewage system
  • Connecting to municipal sanitary and storm sewers
  • Installing a new furnace utilizing a new fuel source
  • Installing an exterior sign
  • An underground sprinkler system connected to building plumbing
  • Installing a solar hot water system
  • Recycling grey water to reduce water use
  • Roof-mounted solar photovoltaic panels
  • Replacing an exterior wall or cladding
A building permit is required for construction whether the work is on the interior or the exterior of the building or dwelling.  There is no exemption for a building permit when performing construction solely within or inside a dwelling. You don't need a Building Permit for the following residential projects:
  • Constructing detached accessory buildings less than 10m2 (108 sq. ft.) in area*
  • Decks not adjacent to a building entrance that are less than 10m2 (108 sq. ft.) in area
  • Damp-proofing basements
  • Replacing plumbing fixtures or water heaters
  • Replacing a furnace or adding air conditioning units or a heat pump
  • Electrical projects (Consult the Electrical Safety Authority)
  • Kitchen or bathroom cupboards
  • Painting and decorating
  • Maintenance and repairs
  • Replacing windows or doors (same size openings)
  • Replacing roofing or shingles
  • Retaining walls less than 1 meter in height
  • Sidewalks, planters and landscaping
  • Garden pergolas and gazebos that do not have a solid roof

Application Forms

 How do I Apply for a Building Permit

Step 1 
Visit Building & By-law Division at the Cornwall Civic Complex (Second Floor) at 100 Water Street East or give us a call at (613) 930-2787 ext. 2355 to obtain a building permit application. Applications and additional information can also be obtained in the Department Forms box on this page (above).

 

Step 2 
Submit applications. The permit application requires information about the project. You will be asked to document who will perform the work, what work will be done, where the work will be done, and how the work will be done.

Scaled drawings, plans or other documentation of the proposed work will have to be submitted for review. Included with the submission, the plans must have the designer's B.C.I.N. registration number, except when a homeowner is preparing their own drawings or for accessory structures under 30m2 (538 sq. ft).

Your application should include 2 sets of building plans drawn to scale suitable for examination and a site plan. 

What is the Cost of a Building Permit?

Building permit fees depend on the floor area and type of building being constructed or altered. Typical building permit fees are calculated based on the estimated construction value. The current building permit fee (for projects under $1 million of construction) is $12.50 per $1,000 of construction value.

For example, if construction for a project is worth $8,000, the building permit fee would be equal to: 
$12.50 X $8000 / $1000 = $100.00.

A minimum permit fee of $67.50 is applicable for projects that are of less than $5,400.

What Inspections are Required? 

Each major phase of construction must be inspected by our Building Officials to make certain the work conforms to the Building Code, the building permit and the approved plans.

The mandatory inspections required for your project will be indicated on the permit. It is your responsibility to ensure that either you or your contractor contacts the city to request an inspection at least 48 hours before work proceeds from one inspection stage to the next. 

Zoning and Other Applicable Laws

A building permit cannot be issued if an owner's site plan and building proposal does not meet City zoning standards, including land use, setbacks from property lines and maximum lot coverage. If you cannot meet all zoning requirements because of site restrictions, you may apply for exemption through the Committee of Adjustment or a zoning by-law amendment. These processes must be completed before a building permit can be considered.

Use our online zoning search tool to determine the zoning restrictions that apply to your property. Click here to access the tool.

In certain cases other laws will apply to a project and must be completed before a building permit can be issued. The laws include site plan approval under the Planning Act, heritage approvals, conservation authority permits and others.

Use our online property information tool (click here to access the tool)and our applicable law checklist [PDF] to determine the other applicable laws that apply to your property. If they do, it is recommended that you complete these approvals before applying for your building permit.

 Resources

 Newsletters

 Septic System Permits 

The City of Cornwall has entered into an agreement with the South Nation Conservation Authority for the enforcement of Part VIII of the Ontario Building Code - Private Sewage Systems.  As such all Sewage Permit applications will be submitted directly to the South Nation Conservation; please coordinate with your Sewage System Designer. 

The South Nation Conservation issues permits and services related to severances, land development, new construction and inspections of private sewage systems. Privately owned sewage systems, including septic tanks and leaching beds, require a permit for installation or alteration under the Ontario Building Code. Proper operation and maintenance of your private sewage system is also required under this Ontario Building Code jurisdiction.

The South Nation Conservation is located at 38 Victoria Street in Finch, Ontario and can be reached at:

Telephone: 613-984-2948 or Toll Free: 1-877-984-2948

More information is available on South Nation Conservation's website (click here).

Did you Know?

A building permit must be refused by the City if an owner's construction will not meet Ontario's Building Code. The Ontario Building Code sets out mandatory minimum standards for structural, health, fire safety and accessibility, and there is no appeal or variance permitted.

The Building Bode also requires that permit plans be prepared by a provincially qualified designer, or by an architect or professional engineer. Your designer is responsible to ensure the design meets the building code.

The Building Code permits knowledgeable homeowners to prepare permit plans for their own house, provided they meet these same construction standards.

The City does not provide design services.

Department of Planning, Development and Recreation
Building & By-Law Division
Cornwall Civic Complex
100 Water Street East, 2nd Floor
Cornwall, Ontario K6H 6G4
Tel:      (613) 930-2787
Fax:     (613) 932-3236
Ext # 2355  Permit application and general code questions
Ext # 2310  Schedule an inspection
Ext # 2323  Permit inquiries
Ext # 2312  Zoning questions

phone icon Contact Us

Lynne Beauchamp
Building Permits and By-Law Enforcement Clerk
100 Water Street East, Box 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
T.: 613-930-2787 ext. 2323
F.: 613-932-3236
Email this contact
Map this location

Veuillez cliquer ici pour faire une plainte concernant une construction.

Les permis de construction sont requis pour assurer le respect des lois provinciales en vigueur, des exigences en matière de zonage et des normes relatives à la sécurité incendie et à la sécurité structurale.  

L’obtention d’un permis de construction permet d’assurer que votre maison et les divers autres bâtiments respectent les normes reprises dans le Code du bâtiment de l'Ontario. Ce Code énonce les exigences techniques pour la construction (y compris les rénovations) et la démolition des bâtiments et le changement d’utilisation des bâtiments existants. Le Code se compose essentiellement d’un ensemble de dispositions minimales s’appliquant à la sécurité des bâtiments, sur le plan de la santé publique, de la protection contre les incendies, de l’accessibilité et de la suffisance structurelle. Son principal objectif est la promotion de la sécurité publique par l’application de normes de construction pertinentes et uniformes.

La Ville de Cornwall s’emploie à promouvoir la mise en place d’une communauté sûre et saine pour ses résidents. Cet engagement s’applique aux bâtiments privés et publics de la Ville.

Les responsables de la construction adhèrent à un code de conduite et sont chargés de veiller à ce que le Code du bâtiment soit respecté et mis en œuvre.

Le respect du Code du bâtiment s’effectue au moyen d’inspections obligatoires concernant les permis de construction, les démolitions et les enquêtes sur les travaux effectués sans permis.

 Avez-vous besoin d’un permis de construction/qui devrait faire une demande de permis/projets qui nécessitent un permis?

Avez-vous besoin d’un permis de construction? Un permis de construction est requis avant d’entamer un projet de construction, de démolition ou de rénovation (mises à part les exceptions reprises ci-dessous). Les renseignements sont fournis à titre d’orientation générale et ne constituent pas une liste exhaustive. Pour savoir si votre projet nécessite un permis, communiquez avec notre technicien au permis au numéro 613-930-2787, poste 2355.

Qui devrait faire une demande de permis? Il incombe au propriétaire de veiller à obtenir un permis de construction, au besoin. Vous pouvez donner l’autorisation à votre entrepreneur ou à votre concepteur (par exemple) de faire la demande de permis, mais en tant que propriétaire, vous devez vous assurer d’avoir obtenu le permis avant de commencer les travaux.

Projets qui nécessitent un permis

Nouvelle construction :

  • Tout nouveau bâtiment excédant 10 m² (108 pi²) - la zone de l'empreinte du bâtiment
  • Tout nouveau bâtiment qui contient de la plomberie, quelle que soit sa taille
  • Tout ajout à un bâtiment existant, quelle que soit sa taille
  • Vérandas en béton
  • Terrasses surélevées de plus de 24 pouces au-dessus du niveau originel du sol, à quelque endroit que ce soit
  • Garages ou abris d’auto détachés ou jumelés
  • Verrières
  • Ajout d’une lucarne
  • Solariums
  • Installation ou changement d’une clôture entourant une piscine
  • Tentes (645 pi² / 60 m² d’ajout de superficie au sol)

Démolition et travaux de réparation :

  • Démolition de tout bâtiment excédant 10 m² (108 pi²)
  • Ajout, retrait ou modification apportée à un mur porteur ou une colonne portante
  • Ajout, retrait ou modification apportée à une cloison non porteuse
  • Changement de l’utilisation d’un bâtiment
  • Installation d’une entrée de sous-sol
  • Déplacement d’un bâtiment
  • Modification d’un foyer visant à passer du système de gaz au bois ou au chauffage à combustible solide
  • Mise en place de canalisations dans une salle de bains ou des toilettes
  • Installation d’un foyer ou d’un poêle à bois
  • Rénovation d’un logement afin de faire un sous-sol pleine hauteur
  • Construction de pièces séparées dans un sous-sol
  • Installation d’un logement supplémentaire
  • Installation de toute nouvelle tuyauterie de plomberie
  • Réparation ou installation d’une installation d’évacuation sur place des eaux usées
  • Connection aux égouts sanitaires et pluviaux municipaux
  • Installation d’un nouvel appareil de chauffage utilisant une nouvelle source de combustible
  • Installation d’un panneau extérieur
  • Système d’arrosage enterré connecté à la plomberie du bâtiment
  • Installation d’un système de chauffe-eau à l'énergie solaire
  • Recyclage des eaux ménagères afin de réduire la consommation d’eau
  • Panneaux solaires photovoltaïques installés sur le toit
  • Remplacement d’un mur ou d’un revêtement extérieur

Un permis de construction est requis pour des travaux effectués tant à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur d’un bâtiment ou d’un logement. Il n’y a pas d’exemption de permis de construction pour des travaux de construction effectués uniquement au sein ou à l’intérieur d’un logement. Vous n’avez pas besoin de permis pour les projets résidentiels suivants :

  • Construction de bâtiments accessoires détachés de moins de 10 m² (108 pi²) de superficie*
  • Terrasses non adjacentes à l’entrée d’un bâtiment de moins de 10 m² (108 pi²) de superficie
  • Imperméabilisation de sous-sols
  • Remplacement des appareils sanitaires ou des chauffe-eau
  • Remplacement d’un appareil de chauffage ou ajout d’appareils de climatisation ou d’une thermopompe
  • Projets électriques (consultez l’Office de la sécurité des installations électriques)
  • Armoires de cuisine ou de salles de bains
  • Peinture et décoration
  • Entretien et réparations
  • Remplacement des fenêtres ou des portes (ouvertures de même taille)
  • Remplacement de la toiture ou des bardeaux
  • Murs de soutènement de moins d’un mètre de hauteur
  • Trottoirs, jardinières et aménagement paysager
  • Pergolas et gazebos de jardin qui n’ont pas de toit rigide
 Formulaires de demande
 Comment faire une demande de permis de construction
Étape 1
Rendez-vous à la Division de la construction et des règlements au Complexe civique de Cornwall (deuxième étage), au 100, rue Water Est ou appelez- nous au (613) 930-2787, poste 2355 pour obtenir une demande de permis de construction. Vous pouvez également obtenir les demandes et des renseignements supplémentaires en cliquant sur la case Formulaires (département) sur cette page (ci-dessus).

Étape 2
Présentez les demandes. La demande de permis doit comporter des renseignements sur le projet. On vous demandera d’indiquer et de documenter qui fera les travaux, quels travaux seront effectués, à quel endroit et de quelle façon.

Vous devrez présenter des dessins à l’échelle, des plans ou divers autres documents associés aux travaux proposés, à des fins d’examen. La présentation doit inclure les plans devant comporter le numéro d'identification pour le Code du bâtiment (NICB) du concepteur, sauf lorsque le propriétaire prépare ses propres dessins ou dans le cas de structures accessoires de moins de 30 m² (538 pi²).

Votre demande devrait comprendre deux ensembles de plans de construction dessinés à l’échelle se prêtant à un examen et un plan d’implantation.

 Quel est le coût d’un permis de construction?

Les frais d’un permis de construction sont établis en fonction de la superficie et du type de bâtiment devant être construit ou modifié. Les frais types d'obtention d’un permis de construction sont calculés en fonction de la valeur de construction estimée. Les frais actuels pour le permis de construction (pour les projets de moins de 1 million de dollars) sont de 12,50 $ pour chaque tranche de 1 000 $ de valeur de construction.

À titre d’exemple, si la construction s’appliquant à un projet donné vaut 8 000 $, les frais d’obtention du permis de construction seront calculés comme suit :

12,50 $ X 8 000 $ / 1 000$ = 100 $

Des frais minimums de permis de 67,50 $ s’appliquent aux projets de moins de 5 400 $.

 Quelles sont les inspections obligatoires?

Chaque phase principale de la construction doit faire l’objet d’une inspection effectuée par nos responsables de la construction, ceci afin d’assurer que les travaux sont conformes au Code du bâtiment, au permis de construction et aux plans approuvés.

Les inspections obligatoires requises dans le cadre de votre projet seront indiquées sur le permis. Il est de votre responsabilité de vous assurer (vous ou votre entrepreneur) de communiquer avec la Ville pour faire une demande d’inspection au moins 48 heures avant que les travaux ne commencent, d’une étape à l’autre.

 Zonage et autres lois applicables

Un permis de construction ne peut être émis si le plan d’implantation du propriétaire et la proposition de construction ne satisfont pas aux normes de zonage de la Ville, y compris en ce qui concerne l’utilisation des terrains, les marges de recul par rapport aux limites de la propriété et la superficie maximale du lot. Si vous ne pouvez satisfaire à l’ensemble des exigences en matière de zonage en raison de restrictions relatives à l’emplacement, vous pouvez demander une exemption par l’intermédiaire du Comité de dérogation ou d’une modification au règlement de zonage. Ces démarches doivent être faites avant de présenter une demande de permis de construction.

Utilisez notre outil de recherche en ligne sur le zonage pour déterminer quelles sont les restrictions en matière de zonage qui s’appliquent à votre propriété. Cliquez ici pour accéder à l’outil.

Dans certains cas, d’autres lois s’appliqueront à un projet et devront être respectées avant l’émission d’un permis de construction. Il s’agit notamment de l’approbation du plan d’implantation en vertu de la Loi sur l’aménagement du territoire, des approbations relatives au patrimoine et des permis délivrés par les offices de protection de la nature, entre autres.

Utilisez notre outil en ligne sur les renseignements sur les propriétés (cliquez ici pour accéder à l’outil)cliquez ici pour accéder à l’outil) et notre liste de contrôle des lois applicables (PDF) afin de déterminer quelles sont les autres lois en vigueur qui s’appliquent à votre propriété. Si ces lois s’appliquent à vous, nous vous recommandons d’obtenir au préalable les approbations requises avant de faire une demande de permis de construction.

 Ressources
 Bulletins
 Permis pour les installations septiques

 La Ville de Cornwall a conclu une entente avec l’autorité de Conservation de la Nation Sud en vue de faire appliquer la Partie VIII du Code du bâtiment de l’Ontario – réseaux d’égouts privés. À ce titre, toutes les demandes concernant des permis d’égouts seront présentées directement à l’organisme Conservation de la Nation Sud; veuillez communiquer avec votre concepteur de réseaux d’égouts.

Conservation de la Nation Sud offre ses services et délivre des permis pour les cas suivants : morcellements de terrain, aménagement des terres, nouvelle construction et inspections de réseaux d'égouts privés. Les installations d'égouts privés, y compris les fosses septiques et les champs d’épurations, nécessitent un permis pour être installées ou modifiées conformément au Code du bâtiment de l'Ontario. En vertu de ce code, votre réseau d’égout privé doit également être exploité et entretenu correctement.

Le bureau de Conservation de la Nation Sud est situé au 38, rue Victoria à Finch, en Ontario et il peut être joint au :

Téléphone: 613-984-2948 ou numéro sans frais : 1-877-984-2948

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, cliquez ici sur le site Web de Conservation de la Nation Sud.

 Le saviez-vous?

La Ville se doit refuser de délivrer un permis lorsque la construction ne respecte pas les exigences reprises dans le Code du bâtiment de l’Ontario. Ce Code fixe les normes minimales obligatoires en matière de structure, de santé, de sécurité incendie et d’accessibilité. Aucun appel ni dérogation n’est autorisé.

En vertu du Code du bâtiment, des plans visant l’obtention du permis doivent en outre être préparés par un concepteur qualifié à l’échelle provinciale, par un architecte ou un ingénieur professionnel. Il incombe à votre concepteur de s’assurer que la conception satisfait aux exigences du Code du bâtiment.

Le Code du bâtiment permet aux propriétaires qui ont des compétences de préparer des plans pour l’obtention du permis pour leur propre maison dans la mesure où ils respectent les normes de construction requises.

La Ville n’offre pas de services de conception.

Département de planification, développement et loisirs
Division de construction et règlements
Complexe civique de Cornwall
100 rue Water east, 2e étage
Cornwall, ON K6H 6G4
Téléphone: 613-930-2787
Fax: 613-932-3236
Poste 2355  Demandes de permis et questions générales sur le code
Poste 2310  Planifier une inspection
Poste 2323  Demandes de permis
Poste 2312  Questions zonage

phone icon Contactez Nous

Lynne Beauchamp
Commis des permis de construction et d'ordonnance des règlements
100 rue Water est, bureau 104, Boîte 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
: 613-930-2787 ext. 2323
: 613-932-3236
Envoyer un courriel
Emplacement sur la carte