Brownfields

Brownfields are abandoned, vacant, derelict or underutilized commercial and industrial properties, usually provided with urban services, where past actions have resulted in actual or perceived contamination. Redeveloping Brownfields sites provides an opportunity for:

  • Neighbourhood revitalization
  • Site clean-up: environmental restoration and/or aesthetic improvements
  • More effective use of existing municipal infrastructure within urban areas
  • Increased tax revenue
  • Employment opportunities
  • Re-use of underutilized or neglected lands
  • Heritage preservation

There are a number of potential Brownfield sites which fall into several broad categories. 

The majority of sites considered for Brownfields are small scale sites located within the city along principal commercial corridors - Pitt Street, Second Street, Ninth Street, Montreal Road, Brookdale Avenue and Vincent Massey Drive.

There are multiple sites which represent a significant opportunity for potential redevelopment including residential, commercial, recreational or other community uses.

There are many sites located on the edge of the urban area in close proximity to existing industrial or commercial areas. These sites represent an opportunity for new commercial or industrial development.

Brownfields are usually located within strategic areas of the community with an existing transportation infrastructure (including public transit), with facilities (water, sewage, schools, parkland and other community infrastructure), are close to or in downtown cores, with potential for a range of uses including residential, commercial, retail and mixed use development.

Please click on the following PDFs to learn more:

Please be aware that the applications are placed on the website to facilitate the application process. However, we strongly urge the applicant to discuss and direct any questions you may have pertaining the application to staff.

There are eight programs available under Brownfields:

 City of Cornwall Rehabilitation Grant (tax-based) Program
This grant is based on the "Reimbursing Developer" approach where the landowner/developer pays the full cost of redevelopment as well as the annual increase in property tax which results. The City then reimburses (or rebates) the developer by means of an annual grant equivalent to all or part of the municipal portion of tax increase over an established "base" assessment and tax liability.
 Environmental Site Assessment (ESA) Grant and Project Feasibility Study Grant Program
This grant is geared towards sites with a Phase 1 ESA, providing assistance to specify the nature and extent of contamination through partial funding of Phase II and Phase III ESA, for example. Partial funding (to a maximum of 50% of the study costs, with a maximum dollar cap, subject to limitations) of the feasibility study is provided to determine the viability of the proposed use given the environmental conditions of the site.
 Brownfield Property Tax Cancellation Assistance Program
This program provides assistance to landowners by removing the cost of property taxation by cancelling the increase of property taxation. As a result of provincial legislative changes, there are added opportunities to have a combined cancellation of both municipal and education portions of tax over a predetermined time period.
 Municipal Brownfield and Urban Information Service Program
The purpose of this service is to prepare and maintain a database with information on key potential brownfield sites (e.g. information on site size, use, ownership, zoning, etc.). This is designed to provide on-going assistance with redevelopment efforts, renovations or re-use of brownfield sites.
 Municipal Brownfield and Urban Information Service Program
This program is designed to assist landowners/developers through the reduction of development costs related to municipal planning and development fees. Fee payments are rebated 100% on condition of achieving approvals, building or occupancy permits.
 Discretionary Municipal Tipping Fees Grant Program
This program provides assistance to landowners/developers through the reduction of development costs related to removal and disposal of non-hazardous material at municipal landfill.
 Municipal Property Acquisition, Disposal and Marketing Program
This is an ad-hoc opportunity led program in which the City of Cornwall invests in the purchase of property, sale of, and/or leasing of municipal property dependant on the opportunity for involvement in small, medium and large scale redevelopment efforts involving Brownfields.
 Payment-in-Lieu of Parkland Dedication Program
This program provides a reduction of development costs for residential and non-residential developers through existing legislative discretion for exempting a landowner from providing a cash-in-lieu payment for parkland dedication purposes. Note: This program applies to sites where land dedication is not feasible.

For more information,

Please click here to email Dana McLean
Development Coordinator
100 Water Street East, Box 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
Phone: 613-930-2787 ext. 2105
Fax: 613-933-0745
Map this location

phone icon Contact Us

Dana McLean
Development Coordinator
100 Water Street East, Box 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
T.: 613-930-2787 ext. 2105
F.: 613-933-0745
Email this contact
Map this location

Les friches industrielles sont des sites abandonnés, vacants, des relais ou des terrains commerciaux et industriels sous-utilisés, où sont généralement aménagés des services urbains et dont les utilisations passées ont entraîné une contamination réelle ou perçue. Le réaménagement de ces sites permet :

  • de revitaliser le quartier;
  • de nettoyer le site (restauration environnementale et améliorations esthétiques);
  • d'utiliser plus efficacement les infrastructures municipales dans les zones urbaines;
  • d'augmenter les recettes fiscales;
  • de créer des occasions d'emploi;
  • de réutiliser les terrains sous-utilisés ou négligés;
  • de préserver le patrimoine.

Quelles sont les catégories de friches industrielles?

Il existe différents types de friches industrielles potentiels qui sont répartis en plusieurs grandes catégories :

La plupart des sites considérés comme des friches industrielles sont des sites de petite échelle situés le long des principaux corridors commerciaux de la ville : la rue Pitt, la 2e rue, la 9e rue, le chemin de Montréal, l'avenue Brookdale et le chemin Vincent Massey.

Bon nombre de sites représentent une excellente occasion d'effectuer un réaménagement potentiel, y compris des utilisations résidentielles, commerciales, récréatives ou d'autres utilisations communautaires.

En outre, de nombreux sites se trouvent à la limite de la zone urbaine, à proximité des zones industrielles ou commerciales actuelles. Ces sites pourraient faire l'objet d'un nouvel aménagement commercial ou industriel.

Les friches industrielles sont généralement situées dans des secteurs stratégiques de la communauté et sont desservies par l'infrastructure de transport actuelle (notamment le transport en commun). Elles sont dotées d'installations (eau, égouts, écoles, parcs et autres infrastructures communautaires) et sont situées près des centre-villes ou dans les centre-villes. Elles présentent un vaste potentiel d'utilisation, y compris l'aménagement aux fins d'utilisations résidentielles, commerciales, de commerce de détail et mixtes.

Cliquez ci-dessous pour...

PROGRAMMES DE FRICHES INDUSTRIELLES

Il existe huit programmes dans le cadre de l'initiative de friches industrielles :

 Programme de subvention de restauration (fondée sur les taxes) de la ville de Cornwall
Cette subvention est basée sur l'approche « remboursement du promoteur » selon laquelle le propriétaire ou le promoteur supporte le coût total du réaménagement, ainsi que l'augmentation annuelle de l'impôt foncier qui en résulte. La Ville effectue ensuite un remboursement (ou une remise) au promoteur sous forme de subvention annuelle équivalant en totalité ou en partie à la hausse des impôts municipaux fondée sur une évaluation de « base » et sur la dette fiscale.
 Programme de subvention ESA et de subvention d'étude de faisabilité de projets
Cette subvention concerne les sites qui en sont à la phase I d'ESA et offre une aide afin de préciser la nature et l'étendue de la contamination, par exemple, en finançant partiellement la phase II et la phase III d'ESA. Un financement partiel (à hauteur de 50 % des coûts de l'étude, avec un plafond maximum, sous réserve de restrictions) de l'étude de faisabilité est prévu afin de déterminer la viabilité de l'utilisation proposée compte tenu des conditions environnementales du site.
 Programme d'aide à l'annulation de l'augmentation des impôts fonciers pour les friches industrielles
Ce programme fournit une aide aux propriétaires en les exemptant de payer l'impôt foncier et en annulant l'augmentation de ce dernier. Après les modifications législatives provinciales, les chances d'obtenir une annulation combinée des deux parties de l'impôt, municipale et scolaire, sur une période de temps prédéterminée augmentent.
 Programme municipal de services d'information urbaine et de friches industrielles
Ce service vise à établir et à maintenir une base de données contenant des renseignements sur les principales friches industrielles potentielles (p. ex., des renseignements sur la taille du site, son utilisation, ses propriétaires, le zonage, etc.) et à en appuyer les efforts de réaménagement, de rénovation ou de réutilisation.
 Programme de subvention pour frais d'aménagement et de réaménagement municipal (remise)
Ce programme vise à aider les propriétaires et les promoteurs en réduisant les coûts d'aménagement liés à la planification municipale et aux redevances. Les frais sont remboursés à 100 %, à condition d'obtenir les approbations ainsi que les permis de construire et d'occuper.
 Programme de subvention discrétionnaire pour redevance de déversement municipal
Ce programme aide les propriétaires et les promoteurs en réduisant les coûts d'aménagement liés à l'élimination et au déversement de matériaux non dangereux à la décharge municipale.
 Programme municipal d'acquisition, d'aliénation et de commercialisation de propriété
Ce programme permet à la Ville d'investir dans l'achat de biens fonciers, la vente ou la location de biens municipaux selon la possibilité de participer au réaménagement des friches industrielles à petite, moyenne et grande échelle.
 Programme de compensation tenant lieu d'affectation de prairie-parc
Ce programme prévoit une réduction des coûts d'aménagement pour les promoteurs résidentiels et non résidentiels selon l'autonomie législative actuelle permettant d'exempter un propriétaire du versement d'une compensation afin de créer une prairie-parc. Remarque : Ce programme s'applique aux sites qui ne sont pas concernés par l'affectation de terrain.

 

Cliquez ici pour envoyée un courriel à Dana McLean
Coordinatrice du développement
100 rue Water est, bureau 104, Boîte 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
Téléphone: 613-930-2787 ext. 2105
Fax: 613-933-0745
Emplacement sur la carte

phone icon Contactez Nous

Dana McLean
Coordinatrice du développement
100 rue Water est, bureau 104, Boîte 877, Cornwall ON, K6H 5T9
: 613-930-2787 ext. 2105
: 613-933-0745
Envoyer un courriel
Emplacement sur la carte