Come out and skate for enjoyment, or work on your skills! Public skates are typically held at the Benson Centre various times throughout the week. Ice skating is a favourite Canadian pastime and the City of Cornwall offers a variety of public skate sessions for all ages. 

In addition to public skating, residents can also take advantage of the outdoor rinks that are established in the community (weather permitting). To find out more about the outdoor rinks, please click here.

 Regular Public Skating

People of all ages can take to the ice during our public skating season which runs from September to March. The Benson Centre has skating sessions designed for the young and the young at heart. Feel like putting those blades on and taking a glide?  Browse our public skating schedule below to find a time and place that works for you. Schedules and fees are subject to change - please call 613-938-9898 to verify skate times. 

General Skating Fees
Children: $2.50
Adults: $3.00

Rules

  • All skaters must wear skates.
  • Parents/guardians must wear skates.
  • Food and drinks are not permitted on the ice.
  • Items which may interfere with the safety of any skater is not permitted. These items include but are not limited to balls, pucks, chairs, pylons, strollers, sticks, and skate aids.
  • Individuals are not allowed on the ice during flooding.
  • Carrying infants and/or children is prohibited.
  • Headsets, cell phones, or handheld electronic devices are not permitted on the ice.

 

Date  Time  Location 
Friday, November 29 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1
Sunday, December 1 12:45-2:05 p.m. Pad #2
Wednesday, December 4 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #3
Friday, December 6 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1 
Wednesday, December 11 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #3
Friday, December 13 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1 
Sunday, December 15 12:45-2:05 p.m. Pad #2
Wednesday, December 18 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #3
Friday, December 20 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1 
Sunday, December 22 12:45-2:05 p.m. Pad #2
Friday, December 27 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1 
Sunday, December 29 12:45-2:05 p.m. Pad #2
Friday, January 3 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1 
Sunday, January 5 12:45-2:05 p.m. Pad #2
Wednesday, January 8 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #3
Friday, January 10 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1 
Sunday, January 12 12:45-2:05 p.m. Pad #2
Wednesday, January 15 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #3
Friday, January 17 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1 
Sunday, January 19 12:45-2:05 p.m. Pad #2
Wednesday, January 22 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #3
Friday, January 24 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1 
Sunday, January 26 12:45-2:05 p.m. Pad #2
Wednesday, January 29 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #3
Friday, January 31 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1 
Wesnesday, February 5 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #3
Friday, February 7 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1 
Wednesday, February 12 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #3
Friday, February 14 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1 
Sunday, February 16 12:45-2:05 p.m. Pad #2
Wednesday, February 19 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #3
Friday, February 21 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1 
Sunday, February 23 12:45-2:05 p.m. Pad #2
Wednesday, February 26 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #3
Friday, February 28 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1 
Sunday, March 1 12:45-2:05 p.m. Pad #2
Wednesday, March 4 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #3
Friday, March 6 6:00-6:50 p.m.  Pad #1  
Wednesday, March 11 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #3
Friday, March 13 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1 
Sunday, March 15 12:45-2:05 p.m. Pad #2
Wednesday, March 18 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #3
Friday, March 20 6:00-6:50 p.m. Pad #1 
Sunday, March 22 12:45-2:05 p.m. Pad #1 

 

 Senior Skating - Mondays and Fridays

The City of Cornwall offers free Senior Skating at the Benson Centre on pad #2.
The free skating program runs on selected Mondays and Fridays. Please see the schedule below. Dates and times are subject to change. Please call 613-938-9898 to verify skate times.

 Date Time 
Monday, December 2, 2019 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
Friday, December 6, 2019 1:15 to 2:45 p.m.
Monday, December 9, 2019 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
Friday, December 13, 2019 1:15 to 2:45 p.m.
Monday, December 16, 2019 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
Friday, December 20, 2019 1:15 to 2:45 p.m.
Monday, December 23, 2019 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
Friday, December 27, 2019 1:15 to 2:45 p.m.
Monday, December 30, 2019 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
Friday, January 3, 2020 1:15 to 2:45 p.m.
Monday, January 6, 2020 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
Friday, January 10, 2020 1:15 to 2:45 p.m.
Monday, January 13, 2020 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
Friday, January 17, 2020 1:15 to 2:45 p.m.
Monday, January 20, 2020 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
Friday, January 24, 2020 1:15 to 2:45 p.m.
Monday, January 27, 2020 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
*No skate January 31
Monday, February 3, 2020 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
*No skate February 7
Monday, February 10, 2020 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
Friday, February 14, 2020 1:15 to 2:45 p.m.
Monday, February 17, 2020 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
Friday, February 21, 2020 1:15 to 2:45 p.m.
Monday, February 24, 2020 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
Friday, February 28, 2020 1:15 to 2:45 p.m.
Monday, March 2, 2020 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
Friday, March 6, 2020 1:15 to 2:45 p.m.
Monday, March 9, 2020 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
Friday, March 13, 2020 1:15 to 2:45 p.m.
Monday, March 16, 2020 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.
Friday, March 20, 2020 1:15 to 2:45 p.m.
Monday, March 23, 2020 9:15 to 10:45 a.m.

 

 Parent and Tot Skating

The City of Cornwall is offering a FREE Parent & Tot Skate session at the Benson Centre on selected Wednesday mornings from 9:15 a.m. to 10:15 a.m. on pad #2. Browse the schedule below to find a date that works for you. Dates and times are subject to change. Call 613-938-9898 to verify ice times.

Rules

  • Tots must be accompanied by an adult on the ice at all times.
  • Tots must wear a helmet and skates.
  • Adults must wear skates.
  • Food or drinks are not permitted on the ice surface.
  • Items which may interfere with the safety of any skater is not permitted. These items include but are not limited to balls, pucks, chairs, pylons, strollers, sticks, and skate aids.
  • Individuals are not allowed on the ice during flooding.
  • Carrying infants and/or children is prohibited.
  • Headsets, cell phones, or handheld electronic devices are not permitted on the ice.

 

Date 
Wednesday, December 4
Wednesday, December 11
Wednesday, December 18

 

Stick & Puck for Families

Tickets will only be sold 1/2 hour prior to ice time.

Need more ice time? Work on the fundamentals of hockey and improve your skills. The Stick & Puck program is designed to enable skaters in full hockey gear, the opportunity to work on passing, puck control and skating drills. 

Rules and Regulations

  • Cost is $5.00/person (youth and adults).
  • Youth includes ages 5 to 14.
  • All participants on ice must have paid before getting on ice, all those not paid will be asked to leave the ice surface immediately.
  • Youth must be (mandatory) accompanied by an adult 18+ on the ice at all times. Adult to child ratio is 1 to 2.
  • Youth must wear (mandatory) full hockey equipment.
  • Parents/Guardian must wear (mandatory) skates and helmet.
  • Pucks and sticks are permitted.
  • Food or drinks are not permitted on the ice surface.
  • Individuals are not permitted on the ice during flooding.
  • Slap shots are not permitted. Youth/Adult will be asked to leave ice surface if this rule is broken.
  • Headsets, cell phones or hand held electronic devices are not permitted on the ice surface.
  • No games or practices allowed.

Check the schedule often as dates and times are subject to change. Call 613-938-9898 to verify ice times.

 

Date  Time 
Friday November 29

5:00 - 5:50 p.m.

Sunday December 1

9:00 - 9:50 a.m.
9:15 - 10:05 a.m.

Saturday December 7

10:00 - 10:50 a.m.

Sunday December 8

9:00 - 9:50 a.m.
9:15 - 10:05 a.m.

Saturday December 14

10:00 - 10:50 a.m.

Sunday December 15 

9:15 - 10:05 a.m.

Saturday December 21

9:00 - 9:50 a.m.
10:00 - 10:50 a.m. 

Sunday December 22

9:00 - 9:50 a.m.
10:00 - 10:50 a.m.  

Monday December 23 

1:00 - 1:50 p.m.

Thursday December 26

6:00 - 6:50 a.m. 

Friday December 27

11:00 - 11:50 a.m.

Saturday December 28 

10:00 - 10:50 a.m.

Sunday December 29

9:00 - 9:50 a.m.
1:00 - 1:50 p.m.

Monday December 30 

10:00 - 10:50 a.m. 

Tuesday December 31

10:00 - 10:50 a.m. 

Thursday January 2

10:00 - 10:50 a.m. 

Friday January 3

10:00 - 10:50 a.m.

Sunday January 5

1:00 - 1:50 p.m.

 

Adult Stick & Puck (18+)

Need more ice time? Stick & Puck is an informal skate for players who want to work on the fundamentals of hockey, get some exercise and have some fun on the ice in a casual environment. Stick & Puck is an opportunity for skill development for skaters and shooters. Cost is $5 per skater.

Rules

  • Ages 18+ only.
  • All participants must pay before getting on the ice. All those who have not paid will be asked to leave the ice surface immediately.
  • Participants must wear skates, gloves, and a CSA-approved helmet.
  • Food and drinks are not permitted on the ice surface.
  • Pucks and sticks are permitted.
  • Individuals are not allowed on the ice surface during flooding.
  • Slapshots are not permitted. Individuals who break this rule will be asked to leave the ice surface.
  • Headsets, cell phones, and handheld electronic devices are not permitted on the ice surface.
  • No games allowed.

The schedule is subject to change. Please call 613-938-9898 to verify ice times.

Date  Time  Location 
Wednesday December 4 9:30 - 10:20 a.m. Benson Centre Pad # 1
Wednesday December 11 9:30 - 10:20 a.m. Benson Centre Pad # 1
Wednesday December 18 9:30 - 10:20 a.m. Benson Centre Pad # 1

  

For additional information on public skating, please contact the Benson Centre at 613-938-9898.

 

phone icon Contact Us

Clerk Security
800 7th Street West, Box 8, Cornwall ON, K6J 0A3
Phone: 613-938-9898 ext. 0
Email
Map this location