Skip to content

Development Charges

Many municipalities in Ontario use development charges to ensure that the capital cost of providing services to new development is borne by the development receiving the benefit.

At its meeting of November 23, 2015 (Report 2015-80-PU), City Council approved to retain Watson and Associates to undertake a Development Charges Background Study to be completed for the City of Cornwall in accordance with the Development Charges Act, 1997.

Over the last year, Administration has worked with Watson and Associates to pull together the information required to complete the report. All City departments have been consulted in the compilation of the study.

At its meeting of June 12, 2017, City Council received the report from Watson and Associates and directed Administration to proceed with the next steps as legislated through the Development Charges Act, 1997.

    

Background Study

The Background Study on development charges has been completed by Watson and Associates and is now available for review.

Click here to access the Background Study

    

Meeting Notice 

 

MUNICIPALITY OF
CORPORATION OF THE CITY OF CORNWALL
NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING

On Monday, March 5, 2018, the Council of the Corporation of the City of Cornwall will hold a public meeting, pursuant to Section 12 of the Development Charges Act, 1997, as amended, to present and obtain public input on the Municipality’s proposed development charges by-law and underlying study.

All interested parties are invited to attend the Public Meeting of Council and any person who attends the meeting may make a representations relating to the proposed by-laws and background study. The meeting is to be held:

Monday, March 5, 2018

7:00pm (EST)

The Council Chambers

360 Pitt Street, Cornwall, ON K6J 3P9

In order that sufficient information is made available to the public, the D.C. Background Study was made available online at the City’s website (www.Cornwall.ca) on December 24, 2017. Copies if the proposed by-laws and the background study were also made available as of January 3, 2018 from the City Clerk (613-930-2787 ext. 2316) and Deputy Clerk (613-930-2787 ext. 2219) at the above location.

Interested persons may express their comments at the Public Meeting or in writing, addressed to the City Clerk, at the above address prior to Friday, February 23, 2018 and such written submission will be placed before Council for the meeting.

Have your say!

We would like to hear from you on the subject of development charges. If you wish to submit written comments on this matter, please forward them to Tracey Bailey

By mail:

Department of Financial Services
100 Water Street East, PO Box 877
Cornwall, Ontario
K6H 5T9

Or by email: Click here

Please note that in order to be considered during the preparation of the final report, your written comments must be received no later than Friday, August 11, 2017.  All submissions received become part of a public record.

 

Additional Information:

 

 

Cornwall

Skip to content

Frais de développement

De nombreuses municipalités en Ontario perçoivent des frais de développement pour s'assurer que le coût en capital de la prestation de services au nouveau complexe est assumé par le complexe bénéficiant des services.

À sa réunion du 23 novembre 2015 (Rapport 2015-80-PU, en anglais), le Conseil municipal a approuvé la proposition de retenir les services de Watson and Associates pour entreprendre une Étude de base sur les frais de développement pour la ville de Cornwall conformément à la Loi de 1997 sur les redevances d'exploitation.

Au cours de l'année dernière, l'administration a collaboré avec Watson and Associates afin de recueillir les données nécessaires à la production du rapport.

Tous les départements de la ville ont été consultés pendant la réalisation de l'étude.

À sa réunion du 12 juin 2017, le Conseil municipal a reçu le rapport de Watson and Associates et a ordonné à l'administration de passer aux étapes suivantes conformément aux dispositions de la Loi de 1997 sur les frais de développement.

CONSEIL MUNICIPALITÉ DE

LA CORPORATION DE LA VILLE DE CORNWALL

AVIS DE RÉUNION PUBLIQUE

 Conformément aux dispositions de l’article 12 de la Loi de 1997 sur les redevances d’aménagement, telle qu’elle a été modifiée, le Conseil municipal de la Corporation de la Ville de Cornwall tiendra une réunion publique pour recueillir les observations du public sur le projet de règlement sur les redevances d’aménagement et l’étude préliminaire.

Toutes les parties intéressées sont invitées à assister à la réunion publique du Conseil. Toute personne qui assiste à la réunion peut faire des observations au sujet du projet de règlement et de l’étude préliminaire. La réunion se tiendra

 Le Lundi 5 mars 2018

19 heures (HNE)

A la salle du Conseil

360, rue Pitt, Cornwall (Ontario) K6J 3P9

 

Pour que le public soit suffisamment informé, l’étude préliminaire sur les redevances d’aménagement a été mise en ligne sur le site Web de la Ville (www.Cornwall.ca) le 24 décembre 2017. Depuis le 3 janvier 2018, on peut se procurer une copie du projet de règlement et de l’étude préliminaire en s’adressant à la greffière de la Ville (au 613 930-2787, poste 2316) ou à la sous-greffière (au 613 930-2787, poste 2219) à l’adresse ci-haut indiquée.

Les personnes intéressées peuvent présenter leurs observations lors de la réunion publique ou les adresser par écrit à la greffière de la ville, à l’adresse ci-haut indiquée, au plus tard le vendredi 23 février 2018. Les observations  présentées par écrit seront soumises au Conseil avant la tenue de la réunion.


Exprimez-vous!

Nous souhaitons connaître votre opinion des droits d'aménagement. Si vous souhaitez présenter des observations écrites à ce sujet, veuillez les envoyer à Tracey Bailey :

Par la poste :

Département des services financiers
100, rue Water Est, C.P. 877
Cornwall (Ontario)
K6H 5T9

Ou par courriel : cliquez ici

À noter que vos observations écrites doivent nous parvenir au plus tard le vendredi 11 août 2017 pour être prises en considération pendant la préparation du rapport final. Tous les exposés reçus feront partie du dossier public.


Renseignements supplémentaires :

 

 

 

Cornwall