Skip to content

Household Hazardous Waste

Orange Drop is an industry-funded recycling program aimed at keeping hazardous & special waste materials out of Ontario's landfills & waterways. 
The Orange Drop Program allows Ontarians to return designated materials to local Municipal HHW Depots, retail sites and collection events across Ontario.
Visit the Orange Drop website

Residents are welcome to bring their household hazardous waste items
to the City Landfill Site on the following dates:


2017 Dates

April

- Wednesday, April 12 (7:30 am - 4 pm)
- Saturday, April 22 (8 am - 12 pm)
- Wednesday, April 26 (7:30 am - 4 pm)

May

- Wednesday, May 10 (7:30 am - 4 pm)
- Wednesday, May 17 (7:30 am - 4 pm)
- Saturday, May 27 (8 am - 12 pm)

June

- Wednesday, June 7 (7:30 am - 4 pm)
- Saturday, June 17 (8 am - 12 pm)
- Wednesday, June 28 (7:30 am - 4 pm)

July

- Wednesday, July 5 (7:30 am - 4 pm)
- Saturday, July 22 (8 am - 12 pm)
- Wednesday, July 26 (7:30 am - 4 pm)

August

- Wednesday, August 9 (7:30 am - 4 pm)
- Saturday, August 19 (8 am - 12 pm)
- Wednesday, August 30 (7:30 am - 4 pm)

September

- Wednesday, September 6 (7:30 am - 4 pm)
- Wednesday, September 13 (7:30 am - 4 pm)
- Saturday, September 23 (8 am - 12 pm)

October

- Wednesday, October 4 (7:30 am - 4 pm)
- Saturday, October 21 (8 am - 12 pm)
- Wednesday, October 25 (7:30 am - 4 pm)

November

- Wednesday, November 1 (7:30 am - 4 pm)
- Saturday, November 4 (8 am - 12 pm)
- Wednesday, November 8 (7:30 am - 4 pm)

 

2018 Dates

April

- Wednesday, Apri 11 (7:30 am - 4 pm)
- Saturday, April 21 (8 am - 12 pm)
- Wednesday, April 25 (7:30 am - 4 pm)

May

- Wednesday, May 2 (7:30 am - 4 pm)
- Wednesday, May 16 (7:30 am - 4 pm)
- Saturday, May 19 (8 am - 12 pm)

June

- Saturday, June 2 (8 am - 12 pm)
- Wednesday, June 13 (7:30 am - 4 pm)
- Wednesday, June 27 (7:30 am - 4 pm)


 

Accepted materials

- Paint: Latex & oil-based
- Corrosive: Vehicle batteries, drain cleaners
- Flammable: Lighter fluid, turpentine, gasoline, used oil
- Toxic: Poisons, bleach, pesticides, paints, cleaning fluids, antifreeze, full or partially full aerosol cans
- E-waste (Electronic Waste): Computers, keyboards, monitors, televisions (no wooden console).
- Light bulbs: Fluorescent tubes, CFL ("curly" type), incandescent light bulbs, halogen bulbs, ballasts (non-pcb), etc.
- Other items: Oil filters, empty oil containers, reusable and single-use batteries (please keep separate), smoke detectors


What to do

- For your protection, deliver toxics wrapped and labeled in the car trunk
- Do not mix materials
- Identify all toxics
- Bring your hazardous waste only on the designated collection days


Important

- No PCBs, fireworks, flares, ammunition or paint produced prior to 1977 will be accepted.
- For unknown substances, please call (613) 936-6072.
- Do not place paint in the garbage.
- Hazardous waste generated by industrial, commercial and institutional establishments will not be accepted.

Not sure how to dispose of a specific item? Check out our Waste Disposal Chart to find the answer.


Contact Us

For additional information, please contact HGC Management Inc. at (613) 936-6072.

Back to the main Garbage and Recycling page.

 

 

Cornwall